who the better writer ...

• artemis
05 Oct 2013 12:12 #157774 by artemis
8)

05 Oct 2013 12:18 #157776 by mapoui
yuh read all of them?

05 Oct 2013 12:18 #157777 by ketchim
the Canadian  ;)

• artemis
05 Oct 2013 12:19 #157778 by artemis
yes , short stories.

05 Oct 2013 12:46 - 05 Oct 2013 13:47 #157786 by mapoui
I read Lawrence and Atwood more than 40 years ago in school here in Canada....

Margaret Lawrence was easier for me but boring..irrelevant.  Gabrielle Roy seemed most relevant.  but her name is not on the list is it?

all middle class elitist people who don't have a clue about the whole of the life..life at the bottom of Canadian society..especially where it intersected with the impact of immigrants then burgeoning, starting up and roiling and what it portended for Canada.

I did it for school.  I would not have read them otherwise..even Roy who explored ordinary Quebec life..containing themes I was much more familiar with

I don't know Findley
Last edit: 05 Oct 2013 13:47 by mapoui.

05 Oct 2013 12:57 #157789 by mapoui
I have lost interest in the technical aspects of writing as arbiter literary quality..save where I encounter creativity in the conveyance of meaning..especially when the content in question is the stock of ordinary life bubbling towards the progressive and revolutionary.

by that measurement I can spend days, all day long with Naipaul on his west indian books..or James on cricket BaB

if writing is not usefully relevant it means little to me..I pass it by.

I am tired of the middle class to wealthy experience as determinative content of things literary... television, films, food, dress etc.  truly tired of it.  if I read it must be progressive, exploratory and explanatory, and indicative of ways forward for humans

I am sure if one spends the necessary time with Lawrence and Atwood they would find the progressive in their work.  I never found it and stopped looking quickly

05 Oct 2013 13:01 #157790 by mapoui
Timothy Findley:

05 Oct 2013 13:07 - 05 Oct 2013 13:45 #157792 by mapoui
I think I would find Munro useful.
Last edit: 05 Oct 2013 13:45 by mapoui.

05 Oct 2013 13:17 #157794 by mapoui

I neglected Lawrence Hill because of who his parents were..his father really.  I saw Dan Hill not as he was portrayed in the media..as a great positive black figure..but as the opposite of that.  but now that I am reminded I will go look for "Black Berry Sweet Juice"

in fact I will look for it on the net right now.  maybe I will get a free read.  nutten better dan free! ::LOL::

• artemis
05 Oct 2013 13:23 #157798 by artemis
i read the older text  in high school and, the prose/syntax/lexicon can be difficult.

Time to create page: 0.215 seconds
JosephineSeattle opened as favorites, and they've earned that right, with fantastic play on both sides of the ball. We are leaning in their direction in what should be a high-scoring Super Bowl.(03.02.2026, 18:05)(18:05)0
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0