VillageBelle
23 Oct 2013 14:12 #159665
my preference is with....boiled mango chutney!!
but like Maps......i go easy on the fried foods!
23 Oct 2013 14:16 - 23 Oct 2013 22:30 #159666
Last edit: 23 Oct 2013 22:30 by mapoui.
23 Oct 2013 14:23 #159670
allyuh know wat i thinking...to put some salfish in dat 'polori' mixture and see how it come out.
mek like akkra only more nutritious
VillageBelle
23 Oct 2013 14:26 #159673
saltfish in polouri??
nah man.....i does put lots of nice green spinach!
23 Oct 2013 16:25 - 23 Oct 2013 22:33 #159692
googly right. we does wash saltfish properly, clean out all the crannies and nooks... then eat. delicious!

:-[

VB! I remember how they use to make akkra with float back in trinidad and I thought it might be nice to try some sal' fish in that mix. it might fit.
akkra is just bare flour and baking powder. polori is dhal..good protein.
but I like spinnach too...plenty!
Last edit: 23 Oct 2013 22:33 by mapoui.
24 Oct 2013 16:23 #159849
yuh know above.... I did not describe akra right
i is akra and sal' fish. deh does season up the flour big time, make it wet like the Polori mix. deh does use pepper, cive, onion, garlic, thyme etc and mix it into the flour with some baking powder..like Polori mix...
and add the washed, de-salted sal'fish, chipped and shredded.
when all ah dat is mixed up deh fry it like polori and it comes out brown and delicious.
then to go with that they make a fry bread or bake called 'float' float is round and flat like roti..that pops up when it is tossed into the hot oil. cooked and cooled the akra with sal'fish is wrapped in the float. that is very delicious food, addictive...man cyar stop eat when man start