T&T the Killing fields ...up to 13 murders in 5 days in 2014

08 Jan 2014 22:35 #172286 by chairman
may have to declare a state of emergency

08 Jan 2014 22:49 #172295 by chairman
will they still play mas?

08 Jan 2014 22:57 #172298 by chairman
does hangings prevent murder?

09 Jan 2014 14:06 #172413 by chairman
THERE has been no pause to the homicides, despite the appeals and warnings of police and politicians, with more killings overnight taking the nation's murder rate to 22 in nine days.

The latest to die was Dian Paladee, 48, who was shot multiple times at a house at Bidassie Street, St Augustine. Paladee a primary school teacher, died at the hands of her ex-husband Sanjeev Ramberran. 44, who then killed himself with a bullet to the head. Paladee's body was discovered early today.

09 Jan 2014 14:09 #172415 by Kwami
This is depressing , no more reporting on murders in Trinidad

09 Jan 2014 15:09 #172427 by mapoui
man does still kill woman and den kill dehself..fuh love, adultery and so on?

wat a waste.  man doh learn at all eh. when I was younger I could think about love like dat.  by the time I reach 30 that was gorne from my soul.  I cud care less if a woman of mine..or  my wife.. went with another man.

she arks mih why...so Itell she that if it was me who take the bud dat wud be trouble.  but women born fuh dat, make to  take it, have the equipment fuh it... so is alright then
:-[ :-[ :-[ :-[
:-[ :-[
:-[

she call mih ah bease'  so I say wat yuh want mih to do kil and chop allyuh?

she say 'well at lease'show ah lil  jealous.'

"fuh wat!  dat go make a difference!  yuh went an' look fuh yuh wood fuh yuhself..why I must worry myself about dat,  feel pain an' all dat?

yuh mad or wat!  not me! I not concern about none ah dat!"

• TRINIDADDY
09 Jan 2014 20:26 #172516 by TRINIDADDY
Trinidad has some of the highest obesity rates in the world too. Since the various global financial crises, it has had several years with innordinately high murder rates.

This is just capitalism at work. The system amplifies the gap between the classes, breeds poverty, violent crime, creates smug politicians who blame "laziness" and "criminals", creates social divisions, suspicion, hate, grotesque homes sealed shut by burglar proofing, and leads to a slow genocide of the lower classes (not to mention 150 species extinct a day!), who are shunted into jails and slowly killed off until you have a nice and stable island, everyone peaceful and fat on foreign junk food, until trouble starts again and the whole damn cycle repeats itself.

No system which runs on debt based, interest issued currency, can ever combat poverty because there will always be more money owed than money present in the system, debt must always exponentially increase, and for every dollar out of debt you and I are, someone else is in corresponding debt. Trinidad, in the 1960/70s, had the only movement in the caribbean which challenged our current central bank system, and they killed off all those activists.

Trinidad is just a microcosm of how capitalism works: a stupid, myopic, self-regarding middle class, an isolated and absurdly rich priviledged class, an invisible foreign class to whom the money is sucked away too, and a stigmatized underclass who die.

Ask any West Indian economics professor how money is created - they cannot tell you. Ask any politician - they cannot tell you. The whole world is running on system that is inherently unsustainable, inherently unethical, and whose workings 99.9 percent of the world doesn't understand.

Trinidad is just the whole world under a magnifying glass. It's sick.

Time to create page: 0.205 seconds
JosephineSeattle opened as favorites, and they've earned that right, with fantastic play on both sides of the ball. We are leaning in their direction in what should be a high-scoring Super Bowl.(03.02.2026, 18:05)(18:05)0
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0