07 Jan 2014 22:00 #172101
Dennis Rodman went on a gravel-voiced tirade against CNN’s Chris Cuomo during an interview on “New Day†Tuesday when Cuomo asked if Rodman might encourage Kim Jong-Un to release U.S. citizen Kenneth Bae.
Rodman, who is leading a team of NBA players, has been criticized for playing a game in North Korea that the country has staged as a birthday gift to Kim. The trip comes soon after Jong-Un, the country’s dictator, executed his uncle.
07 Jan 2014 22:03 #172102
Former NBA player Charles Smith made the case during the interview that the players were only using “basketball diplomacy†to form friendships with North Koreans. Rodman described Kim as a friend, saying, “I love my friend.â€
But when Cuomo asked if Rodman might use his friendship to secure the release of Bae, an American being held in North Korea without any charges, Rodman erupted.
07 Jan 2014 22:04 #172103
“Watch this. The one thing about politics, Kenneth Bae did one thing, if you understand — if you understand what Kenneth Bae did, do you understand what he did?†Rodman responded.
“What did he do? You tell me,†said Cuomo.
“In this country. No no no no! You tell me! You tell me! Why is he held captive?†asked Rodman.
“They haven’t released any charges. They haven’t released any reason,†said Cuomo.
From there, Rodman went on an often difficult to understand rant in which he waved a cigar, cursed, said he didn’t give a “rat’s ass†what Cuomo thought, accused him of hiding “behind the mic,†and said that he and his fellow players would be the ones who had to “take the abuse†when they return to the U.S.
08 Jan 2014 09:55 #172158
oh boy! Rodman is incapable of dealing with those things. he is not smart or experienced enuff to stuff Cuomo..so he descended into emotional frustration.
Rodman shud have known from the start that there is no american named Cuomo who can be trusted if they are from New York..so be prepared to deal with them on dat level. the whole media. fuh dat matter.
a lil bit of truth might have helped..like." we are not here for that, not operating at a diplomatic level and I cannot presume to impose on the friendship extended to me by the head of state of a nation.
if the USA government asked me to intercede with the Korean leader in the case of the hostage, then I would be accredited and can so be able to raise the issue.
next question?"
it was either that or let one of the other more diplomatic smart members of the team deal with the media. Rodman should have picked one player with such skills for certain and asked him to deal with such questions which were bound to arise
08 Jan 2014 20:23 #172277
very likely! what else! you know they will use every opportunity that develops to push their program. Rodman prolly does not have a clue
BK
09 Jan 2014 11:58 #172352
by BK
at the rate Rodman was raving and ranting -- it sure look that he was USING.....!
BK