17 Jun 2014 15:13 #196693
Time for a Geography lesson.
1) Ghana is a country in Africa.
2) Africa is a continent.
3) Guyana, which is pronounced "Guy-ana" not "Gee-ana" is also a country all by itself. It was also formerly known as British Guiana.
4) Guyana is in South America.
5) South America is also a continent.
6) The distance between Ghana and Guyana is approximately ~4000 miles.
7) When I say I am from "Guyana", don't correct me and say "you mean Ghana, right?". Ugh... get a freaking Atlas or something.
I am Guyanese. I don't speak Guyanese, I speak English BUT sometimes I speak Sharmelese. I am a US citizen but I was born in Guyana. Hmm, too much to explain. Well. Ok... maybe it was a rant not a lesson. Hope you have learned something. Arite then, tata. Time fuh ketch di train.
all credits goes to Sharmela G.
17 Jun 2014 15:19 #196696
I once received mail meant for Ghana :
at Kitty Post Office , Guyana.
from England !
I know of others whom mail from Guyana ended up in Ghana :
ONLY to be " returned to sender " in Guyana
17 Jun 2014 16:02 #196727
SHalini RAmkishun
actually it doesn't bother me anymore. Even when I say I m from south America,some people still ask me if that's Kenya! And I am serious as hell, no jokes rass!1 hr · Like
SHalini RAmkishun
I stop answering and correct them1 hr · Like
SHalini RAmkishun
As a fact, there are millions of Indian living through out Africa. So I don't blame anyone for thinking we are from Africa, the other thing is, not many people know where Guyana is, I am glad they don't know though, because for a small country consisted of less than a million, too much corruption and it is an embarrassment to humanity.1 hr · Like
Sharmela SG
I don't get upset that some people don't know where Guyana is. I actually don't expect them to know. I would prefer they say they don't know what Guyana is or where it is. I do get upset when they somehow think that I do not know where I am from or whe...
See More
59 mins · Like
Sharmela SG
Unfortunately, corruption exists everywhere. No country or political system is exempted from it. I think Guyana has more than it's fair share or maybe we just tend to look at Guyana through a magnifying glass at times. There are lots of beautiful thing...
See More
53 mins · Like
SHalini RAmkishun
Don't sweat the small stuff Sharmela, it's ok, I start to appreciate it when people speak different languages with me. I am not patriotic as before and don't try to illustrate where Guyana is or where is it situated or the location, I can care less . I am starting to appreciate my cultural identify.52 mins ·
Edited
Sharmela SG
Ha...people speak Spanish to me all the time. I am very proud of my cultural identity. I will defend it when the need arises. I am a Guyanese/West Indian/Indian/New Yorker LOL..... and more...49 mins ·
Edited
Sasenarine Deonarine
@ SHalini seems like you are an embarrassment to yourself, no other national will say what some knucklehead Guyanese will say about Guyana, SHAME,,,23 mins · Like
SHalini RAmkishun
"Every country has corruption" if you argue that way you've missed the point... I've been saying with a population less than 1 million, the level of poverty makes deep cuts in one's mind.17 mins · Like
SHalini RAmkishun
ez yuh noise pig !16 mins · Like
Sharmela SG
Seriously? If we are going to discuss population with regards to poverty and political corruption, then we must take that discussion elsewhere as this post was not intended for that. You missed the point of the post as well.12 mins · Like
Sharmela SG
No reason for name calling. We have different opinions. We can agree to disagree. Peace!10 mins · Like
SHalini RAmkishun
just a quick question actually why do you think people don't care to know where Guyana is located/situated, even if you tell them 100 hundred times??9 mins · Like
SHalini RAmkishun
seriously, I don't think people are that ignorant to speak Spanish with you, when they fully know that throughout south America Spanish is the predominated language. AND you fully look South Indian.4 mins · Like
Sharmela SG
People who don't care to know or don't really want to know; their judgment or assumption about where people (we) came from is based on physical features.4 mins · Like
Sharmela SG
Actually they do, and I do answer people in Spanish as much as I can especially when they are asking for directions. This happens mostly when I wear my hair pulled back in a ponytail.2 mins · Like
SHalini RAmkishun
Not doubting you girl, just trying to make sense of what you are saying.Just now · Like
serious topic, ...good
Time to create page: 0.250 seconds