25 Aug 2014 16:40 #209480
Michael Sam, who became the first openly gay football player to be drafted by an NFL team, has made waves in just three preseason games. But on a surprisingly deep St. Louis roster, Sam's spot is hardly guaranteed.
Katzuhiki
25 Aug 2014 16:45 #209482
by Katzuhiki
That's not right. Just because someone's sexual preference might not be the accepted, he should not be judged based on it. Sam should be evaluated as a player, and his private life should not be in the matters.
26 Aug 2014 10:09 #209556
well his private life aint private no more. I wonder who put it out on the streets ::confused::
he is an average player who tried to game the system with his disclosure. they are gaming him instead.
Sam cant claim he was not given a chance. he has. deh jes doh want him or deh will choose to go in different directions when it comes to player selections
May102014
26 Aug 2014 15:05 #209627
by May102014
I'm not all that surprised. St. Louis is a city that is about an hour from me. The town is highly conservative to say the least and very segregated from my recollections of the place. Anyway, political assumptions aside, Sam's placement on the team seem to be more about generating news coverage than his actual talent to be a great player for the Rams. Besides, the possibility of Sam being removed from the team isn't a big deal as many players are often remove from a team before the official start of football season. Who knows the reason but I'm sure Sam will have another press conference to address the issue if the opportunity arises.
26 Aug 2014 19:04 - 26 Aug 2014 19:13 #209676
Michael Sam is just an average football player whose chances of making the NFL were slim to none. so he played the Gay card. that is what it was all about: backing the NFL into a corner to ensure he got drafted..then backing the drafting team same way, to keep him.
and look at the team and the head coach: St Louis and Fisher. Fisher is so racist and socially rabid he is bound to be hateful of homos. Fisher had 2 great black Quarterbacks and almost destroyed them both: McNair and Young. he succeeded with Young.
it was inconceivable that Fisher would draft a BLACK homosexual for his team...just like hod does not want black quarterbacks. but it is conceivable that Fisher was ordered to draft Sam then cut him before the season.
major league sports are notorious for their behind the scenes collaboration...collusion rather. Sam tried to game a cartel. then to work for that cartel. not very smart. he is bound to lose.
the only fact that would have saved him is if he was really a good player. he is not..average at best
Last edit: 26 Aug 2014 19:13 by mapoui.
The Professor
27 Aug 2014 14:34 #209829
by The Professor
Jackie Robinson is the blueprint, or at least that's what so many seem to believe.
It certainly wouldn't be a bad example for Michael Sam to follow. Robinson broke MLB's color barrier by putting his head down and competing. He won over critics by winning games for the Brooklyn Dodgers. Just shut up and play. Jackie Robinson is an undeniable American hero for what he did. How he accomplished it was his choice. For him and his day, it was perfect.
wulfman
27 Aug 2014 14:36 #209830
by wulfman
CM he made the cut. He is on the St Louis Rams. One player commented "Only ESPN cares about this issue."
wulfman
27 Aug 2014 14:39 - 27 Aug 2014 14:44 #209831
by wulfman
I don't know if anyone would go that far just to play in the NFL. Especially in a sport where being gay makes you a pariah. But money is money. Heck if I could get a high paying job if I said I was gay I would do it so you may have a point.
He didnt succeed with Young at all. He succeeded with McNair. The Titans went to the Superbowl with McNair. Young was a waste of talent.
www.google.co.in/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=...whmAQiV8JOPjUUExlQYQ
brian
27 Aug 2014 17:37 #209849
by brian
give the guy a chance to perform on the field not off the field
First Openly Gay NFL Draftee Michael Sam May Not Make the Team
Time to create page: 0.225 seconds