the man who should lead CANADA.

• artemis
03 Sep 2015 15:30 #270171 by artemis
Trudeau says Canada should accept more Syrian refugees
Justin Trudeau
Liberal Leader Justin Trudeau addresses supporter in the Public Gardens in Halifax on Friday, Aug. 30, 2013. (THE CANADIAN PRESS/Andrew Vaughan)

Michael MacDonald, The Canadian Press
Published Friday, August 30, 2013 7:55PM EDT
Last Updated Friday, August 30, 2013 11:10PM EDT
HALIFAX -- Liberal Leader Justin Trudeau says Canada should be doing more to admit refugees from the bloody conflict in Syria.
Trudeau said Friday he was pleased to hear the Conservative government is not contemplating military intervention following an alleged chemical weapons attack by the Syrian regime that the United States says killed at least 1,400 people.
The death toll since the conflict began has topped 100,000 and the United Nations says more than six million Syrians have had to flee their homes.
RELATED STORIES
Baird reiterates Canada's support for U.S., as Obama weighs options in Syria
"I've very worried about the Syrian people," he said before meeting people at a park in downtown Halifax.
"We also do want to see our government providing humanitarian support, diplomatic pressure to resolve this situation and I know we can do more around refugees in terms of bringing some of the many thousand of displaced people to Canada for a better life."
Yaman Marwah, president for the Syrian Association of Ottawa, said his group was told earlier this year that the Canadian government was prepared to admit 1,500 Syrian refugees to Canada.
"We have connections all over Canada and we didn't see anything so far," he said in an interview from Ottawa.
"We haven't seen anything aside from closing the Syrian embassy and getting the ambassador out since the beginning of the revolution."
Earlier this week, Trudeau said Parliament should be recalled to discuss what role Canada should play as the international community prepared to respond on Syria. He said the use of chemical weapons is "unacceptable" and requires a "significant response."
Andrea Khanjin, a spokeswoman for Immigration Minister Chris Alexander, said the United Nations is not asking for additional resettlement of refugees.
She added in an email that Canada is one of the world's largest providers of humanitarian aid to Syrian refugees.
"Trudeau is going against the UN's advice on refugee resettlement. It is irresponsible and proves that he has no plan on immigration," she said.
In June, Foreign Affairs Minister John Baird said Canada would give Jordan an additional $98.4 million to help the Arab country cope with more than half a million Syrian refugees.
The following month, former citizenship and immigration minister Jason Kenney said Canada had made an initial commitment to resettle up to 1,300 Syrian refugees this year and next.
Kenney said Canada was responding to the UN's appeal to help a limited number of extremely urgent cases. As a result, he said Canada will resettle 200 vulnerable Syrian refugees in 2013 and 2014.
As well, he said Canada planned to accept up to 1,100 Syrian refugees in 2014 through the Private Sponsorship of Refugees Program.
Ottawa has committed an additional $115 million in assistance to help Syrian refugees both in Syria and in neighbouring countries.

03 Sep 2015 15:37 #270176 by ketchim
We love Syrians !

Goooooooooo Trudeau  8)

• artemis
03 Sep 2015 15:39 #270180 by artemis
8) 8) 8)

Syrians I can deal with... very nice people.

03 Sep 2015 15:41 #270181 by ketchim
old progressive civilisation being destroyed by the Westerners...

03 Sep 2015 16:15 #270193 by mapoui
where is he sitting in the polls now........

I like Trudeau least of the 3 ..talking nonsense about marijuana and making voting mandatory.

the idiot kid does not have an intellect for politics, for leading a nation and now he comes out of wherever to talk nonsense about cannabis

and limiting freedom of choice..to vote for whoever or to not vote at all.

if I am not happy with the electoral choices before yet I must vote for one ::confused::

what the hell kind of nonsense is that ::confused::

there are so many crucial issues facing Canada he votes for a draconian spy bill then talks only limitation and mandating of the people
Canada/the world is in a terminal social crisis..we are toast if we do not make the right choices over the next 20 years.  but look at what lil Trudeau is focused on.

look allyuh get out of here with that lil Trudeau eh.  he is a lil impse who should get nowhere near 24 Sussex.  he is the worst of the 3 looking to get into that location >:( >:( >:( >:(

03 Sep 2015 16:17 #270194 by ketchim
Oye , you owe his Dad your presence here in Toronto:

you could easily be catching yuh ass and scrunting : in P.O.S  :P

03 Sep 2015 16:19 #270195 by mapoui

not me sir.  I applied.  they said make 50 points on their calculation sheet.  I did!  case closed

03 Sep 2015 16:20 #270196 by ketchim

Yes We Can : we have 35 million people in one of the largest land mass in the Universe !

03 Sep 2015 16:21 #270197 by ketchim
The knew was counterfeit documents submitted BUT looked the odda way  :P

03 Sep 2015 16:22 #270198 by mapoui
I owe Pierre Eliot the faux socialist and Bilderberger nutten.

were they not bleeding my country I would have had a different and better reality and life altogether.  I would not have had to come here.  you behave as if somebody did you a favor.  mus' be because you come from Guyana

Time to create page: 0.219 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0