Watooka
25 Dec 2015 13:40 #285266
by Watooka
I called a friend today to wish him Merry Christmas. His daughter answered the phone. She told me that he had passed away after an operation in February. I man was proper vex. The least that I would have expected is for someone to have informed me at the time of the funeral arrangements. How can an old time friend pass away and get buried without some of his close friends there to send him off?
Watooka
25 Dec 2015 14:07 #285270
by Watooka
The reason for the absent of notification turned out to be the fact that the daughter did not want her mother to know that her dad had passed away. So in order to make sure nobody would accidentally inform the mother, or mention it on FB or Twitter, was by keeping it secret.
A rich uncle of his passed away last year and left him loads of money. I reckon the daughter must have inherited everything of his.
Watooka
25 Dec 2015 19:18 #285282
by Watooka
I mentioned this to another friend of mine today, and he fired back the news that another good friend of mine passed away December last year. My mate only found out himself in February, so he thought that i must have known about it by then. I reckon that the guys wife did not really know his friends other than the ones close to where they lived, or that passed by regularly.
26 Dec 2015 00:07 #285290
You is a friend whom only call at Xmas ?
Between February and today : why were you incommunicado ?
The other one was a full calendar year ...
With friends like you , who need enemies ?? :-[
26 Dec 2015 00:25 #285294
Mate you were never friends .Friends don't just communicate at the Christmas season only
Scooby Snack
26 Dec 2015 11:47 #285327
by Scooby Snack
Sorry for your loss, but also it sucks that the family drama intervened.
My grandma passed back in May of last year, but it took nearly a week for the news to reach me, and even then there were relatives that lived in her state that STILL didn't know. Crazy.
Watooka
26 Dec 2015 12:40 #285336
by Watooka
It is the UK way of doing things I guess. People here like to keep themselves to themselves. Some friends you only touch base once in a while as you get older. Most English people don't like to just call you to chat on the phone. And in most cases they tend to live in a different part of the country. You wouldn't drive up to go and see them just for fun. English people different.
26 Dec 2015 12:53 #285338
y'all aint living nice , at all at all :
when my Dad died , his grandkids cut short holiday all over the place and attended.
We had to wait an xtra day for one found in Antigua, partying !!
IF I dont call friends and relative I get sarcastic e mails and texts :
"Yuh dialing finger bruk ? " OR "it stuck up yuh arse "
Yes Watooka , y'all really different !
A bit of a damper on my Christmas celebrations
Time to create page: 0.224 seconds