Walmart Canada to begin charging for plastic bags

25 Jan 2016 12:26 #289070 by The Captain
Walmart Canada to begin charging for plastic bags on Feb. 9

Walmart Canada WMT, +1.48% will charge customers in British Columbia five cents per plastic bag on Feb. 9 and roll out the fee to other stores over the following months, the company said Monday. The company will sell reusable bags for 25 cents. The move is a step towards Walmart Canada's zero waste commitment, the company said in a statement. Walmart Canada said it has already removed 72% of its waste from municipal landfills. Some of the proceeds of the plastic bag fee will be used to support plastic film recycling initiatives. Wal-Mart shares are down 29.2% for the past 12 months, but up 7.5% for the past three months. The S&P 500 is down 8.1% for the past three months.

25 Jan 2016 12:30 #289072 by chairman
what a country

• Watooka
25 Jan 2016 12:43 #289074 by Watooka
High time.

25 Jan 2016 12:45 #289075 by mapoui
profiteering! :-[ :-[ 
if the bags dangerous stop make dem..di'ze all >:( >:( >:(

• VillageBelle
25 Jan 2016 13:23 #289097 by VillageBelle

it is to encourage folks to take their reusable bags when they go shopping
we have about ten of these and always take them grocery shopping.
they are fabric and we wash them ever couple weeks.

plastic is slowly suffocating our earth......and since Canada's population is only tiny compared to the US, just imagine how much you are contributing to this 'death'!

• briannagodess
25 Jan 2016 13:56 #289117 by briannagodess
That's exactly what my husband's thought is. He said that if they are really concerned about the environment, why not stop making plastic altogether? Why sell plastics at all? I guess he has a point. That's why we make it so to bring our reusable bags whenever we go shopping so we won't have to pay for plastic bags.

25 Jan 2016 14:20 #289127 by Nargis
ill pay the .05cents

25 Jan 2016 14:47 #289144 by mapoui

I agree! so don't make the plastic bags at all.  that is what shud happen. 

if they make the bags and sell them for 5 cents that is one humungus profit for those bags cost parts of a cent to make.  that is why they are profiteering by selling the bags and not discontinuing them altogether

if something is bad don't make it at all.  dat solves the problem overnight.  take yuh own re-usable bag or cart to the store or walk with your purchases in yuh hand ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

25 Jan 2016 14:52 #289145 by The Captain
is like NYers paying 5 cents for every bottle

26 Jan 2016 09:39 #289194 by mapoui

glass is cheap too.

the fact is even when I pay 5 cents for a bag I put garbage in it and send it to the dump.  those grocery bags are almost the cost of one regular garbage bag and much more handy.

I bought some white catch garbage bags for my kitchen bin and to get them open is literally a paradox.  I gave up and they sit there in the cupboard catching dust instead.

from what I see around me 5 cents of not those grocery bags will end up in the garbage regardless.  and the authorities know this..without a doubt.

IF THEY WANT THEM NOT TO END UP IN THE GARBAGE THEY MUST STOP MAKING THE DAM BAGS PERIOD!  SELLING THEM FOR 5 CENTS IS MASSIVE PROFITEERING.

I will bet real money that what is happening is this:  the makers of those bags have a lobby that has influenced the government to do exactly what we see happening..cause the bags to be sold for 5 cents..under the guise of helping the environment.

it is either that or members of the government and their families have shares in the process and stand to make a killing.

but I will definitely stop buying them now.  I will keep my 5 cents and walk with a bag to do all my shopping.  I hate profiteering and so I will no longer contribute

Time to create page: 0.195 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0