Toronto under extreme cold weather alert as wind chill drops to -20

08 Jan 2017 11:44 #331458 by chairman
Don’t let the sunshine fool you, Toronto is still under an extreme cold weather alert.

The city’s medical officer of health issued the alert back on Jan. 5 but it continues, with Sunday’s wind chill near -20.

Aside from the current sunny skies, your Sunday will be windy and there’s a chance of flurries with a high of -7 C.

The northwest wind will be gusting to 50 kilometres/hour.

08 Jan 2017 11:51 #331464 by chairman
Extreme cold weather alerts are issued when the temperature is forecast to reach -15 C or colder, or when the wind chill is forecast to reach -20 or colder.
During an alert, you’re encouraged to dress in layers and cover up exposed skin, which can freeze in minutes.
Also, you’re asked to call or visit friends, neighbours and family who may experience difficulties in these dangerous weather situations.
There will be cloudy periods in tonight’s sky, still with a chance of flurries and a low of -13 C.
In the meantime, snow squall warnings are in effect north of the city.
Environment Canada says Barrie, Collingwood, Orillia, and other areas through the Muskokas should prepare for an additional 15 centimetres of snow on Sunday.
In total, that brings the accumulation over the last 24 hours to about 30 centimetres in those areas.
Snow squall watches and warnings are issued when conditions create bands of snow that produce intense accumulations and create limited visibility on the roads.
The snow is expected to taper off by later tonight.

08 Jan 2017 11:52 #331467 by ketchim
Last Night my pants felt like hard cardboard when I stepped out.

IT is a Freezer out deh !  :-[

• Alien
08 Jan 2017 12:48 #331489 by Alien

Borse

I spent my younger days in Montreal, those days we had temperatures in the minus 30 deg C ,
plus a wind coming off the St Lawrence river in January to the end of February . We would get
2 weeks of such weather a lil break then another two weeks .

My 1969 Buick Skylark didn't like such weather, I use to put on 4 snow tires . Montreal is very
hilly so a car slides on ice going up or coming down a hill . It was nasty driving .I learnt how
to gear down driving in snow .
I paid 2,000 dollars for that car brand new, the best 360 cubic engine ever built by GM.My first
fill up with Sunoco 260 leaded ( almost jet fuel) cost me $3.25  and I tort that was expensive.
I was making $2.50 cents per hour , that was a lot of money in those days . ::LOL:: ::LOL::

Toronto any cold weather an they call out the army , dem wusses  ::LOL:: ::LOL::
Today I wear a sweater an two tee shirts and I am ok .
I haven't worn a winter coat in ten years in the Hamilton area and I am in construction.
Like I say dem is wusses.

ps My Tee shirts today say " My mama dont like you ".... ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

08 Jan 2017 18:01 #331568 by Kwami
You forgot to mention the you also wear attends for women

08 Jan 2017 18:08 #331569 by ketchim
1969 had no Snow Tires : so thats a humzinger ...muddah of all lie

Back then we used to wrap the Tire with Chain links

In Montreal they became mandatory law in year ??  ;)

www.cbc.ca/news/canada/montreal/quebec-w...e-deadline-1.3300751

08 Jan 2017 18:38 #331575 by chairman
u guys afraid of cold

• Alien
08 Jan 2017 21:14 - 08 Jan 2017 21:19 #331597 by Alien

Again , since kwami and you know so little I will embarrass you both again.

When Were Winter Tires Invented?

HomeResourcesWhen Were Winter Tires Invented?

Winter tires have been around since the 1930’s, first introduced for trucks and then just a few years later for passenger vehicles. Prior to that, regular tires were used during winter months, and in some places, like Canada and the Scandinavian countries, this didn’t provide as much handling or traction control as the conditions often required.

The First Winter Tires
The very first set of winter tires came from Finland in 1934, when Nokian first manufactured tires suited for trucks as a way to ensure that they had a better chance of successfully reaching their destinations. This was during a time when there were still many horses and carts on the roads, and the vehicles weren’t as robust as they are now. Having a set of tires to help keep trucks and cars under control had a huge impact on keeping drivers, pedestrians and horses safe.

Unique Tread Design
When these new winter tires were first sold, they featured a completely unique tread design for the time. The tires created for early vehicles had very slight tread patterns, but winter tires were designed with an entirely new style which included significantly larger teeth, helping the tire ‘bite’ into the snow and offer maximum traction.

Introduction by More Brands
After Nokian introduced their first dedicated winter tire offering, many other manufacturers quickly followed suit and introduced their versions. For example, Goodyear introduced their Suburbanite winter tires in 1952, and their first studded tire model was announced in 1965. In 1962, Michelin Tires patented a snow tire that included their latest technology: a tire design that includes variable width recesses in the tread, helping grip in the snow and ice.

Across all of the major manufacturers, one thing is clear: regardless of when and where they were first invented, winter tires just keep getting better and better! There have been some amazing innovations introduced over the past few decades, and don’t expect that that to change any time soon. The research and development funding for winter tire is huge, and some of the most recent introductions include:

Microbit Technology: Toyo Tires has incorporated walnut shells into their winter products. Walnut shells are among the hardest natural materials, digging into the snow and ice to provide improved traction. They’re also an environmentally friendly choice.
Silica compounds have been included in the winter tire offerings from Cooper Tires, Goodyear Tires, Bridgestone Tires, and many others.
Optimizations in materials, siping and tread patterns designed to increase traction, reduce road noise and ensure vehicle owners can still enjoy driving in the winter are common across many manufacturers.
Now who is the mudda of all lies , Ketchum  ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

• Alien
08 Jan 2017 21:17 #331598 by Alien

Notice I ignore you , yet you cant stop attacking me .

Okk  8) 8)

• Alien
08 Jan 2017 21:25 #331600 by Alien

Dimwit , you were wearing cardboard pants .

Gawd to drunk to know the difference . ::LOL:: ::LOL::

Time to create page: 0.182 seconds
JulieEngland cricket icon Robin Smith has passed away at the age of 62.(03.12.2025, 20:30)(20:30)0
JulieFormer Jets and Commanders WR Laveranues Coles completed nine months of training at the Jacksonville Sheriff's Office Academy and will officially become an officer after his probationary period ?(02.12.2025, 14:36)(14:36)0
JulieHeartbreaking to hear of the passing of former England cricketer Robin Smith ?

Our thoughts are with his friends and family at this difficult time ?

Rest in peace, Judge ?
(02.12.2025, 12:56)(12:56)0
JulieJUST IN: Andre Russell calls time on his IPL career and will join KKR’s support staff for 2026 ‼️(30.11.2025, 14:06)(14:06)0
TravisShoppers spend billions on Black Friday to snag holiday deals, despite wider economic uncertainty(29.11.2025, 17:11)(17:11)0
TravisSnow, rain and cold in store for some Thanksgiving travelers(29.11.2025, 17:10)(17:10)0
TravisThe pitch at Perth Stadium was rated "very good" despite a two-day finish in the first Ashes Test(29.11.2025, 10:57)(10:57)0
TravisWe are two days out or so from the start of the New Zealand vs West Indies test series.(29.11.2025, 10:51)(10:51)0
TravisPat Cummins did look brilliant in the nets over in Perth but will only be readier for his return come the 3rd Test in Adelaide, which should work perfectly for Australia, especially now that they’re 1-0 up going to the Gabba(29.11.2025, 10:41)(10:41)0
JulieSad news: Thirty minutes ago in Dallas, the family of former Dallas Cowboys icon Drew Pearson, aged 73, unexpectedly announced that he has passed away(29.11.2025, 08:00)(08:00)0
TravisPat Cummins is set to be included in Australia’s squad for the upcoming second Ashes Test against England in Brisbane, according to reports.(28.11.2025, 15:19)(15:19)0
TravisSuspect in shooting of National Guard members now facing a first-degree murder charge(28.11.2025, 14:24)(14:24)0
TravisLake effect snow piles up in Great Lakes region, impacting Thanksgiving travel(28.11.2025, 08:50)(08:50)0
TravisChiefs vs. Cowboys preview Week 13

Perhaps the most perplexing aspect of AT&T Stadium, otherwise known as “Jerry World,” is the glare from the sun that bursts through the windows and shines directly onto the field. Time and time again the glare has impacted players’ visibility during games, yet Jerry Jones refuses to make any changes to account for the sun.

Rather than install curtains, Jones has previously said he feels it’s a home-field advantage to have that type of stadium factor impacting games. Well, the glare ended up benefitting the Chiefs early into Thursday’s Thanksgiving game, as a pass from Dak Prescott to George Pickens fell incomplete, at least in part due to the impact of the sun’s glare.
(27.11.2025, 21:18)(21:18)0
TravisAT&T Stadium Glare Led to Plenty of Comments From NFL Fans During Chiefs-Cowboys(27.11.2025, 21:17)(21:17)0
TravisKittitian allrounder Kunal Tilokani earns U19 call upKittitian allrounder Kunal Tilokani earns U19 call up(27.11.2025, 13:19)(13:19)0
Travis'Wanted them to really grovel' - SA coach Shukri Conrad on keeping India on the field(25.11.2025, 18:29)(18:29)0
JulieHi(25.11.2025, 08:45)(08:45)0
Juliemotie 130 notout guyana 250(25.11.2025, 08:44)(08:44)0
Matthewhi(25.11.2025, 07:00)(07:00)0
Julie19 wickets fall between Aus and Eng and it’s great cricket, 19 wickets fall between W.I and any other country and we should be relegated…the double standards in world cricket.(21.11.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
Travisketchim?(12.11.2025, 17:40)(17:40)0
Traviskwami?(12.11.2025, 17:40)(17:40)0
Traviswho is this(12.11.2025, 17:39)(17:39)0
AlvinChairmsn, I cant Log in(11.11.2025, 17:16)(17:16)0
SerenaThis batting performance by the West Indies in the second innings blew me away. I kept closing my eyes and then rubbing and opening them again and sat transfixed as I watch that unbelievable partnership between John Campbell and Shai Hope. What a magnificent performance by these two! It just goes to show that patience, determination and effort can go a long way to improve the performances of the West Indies team. Let us hope that this effort by West Indies batsmen would not be a one-off performance, but will be the beginning of a renewed effort to improve the performances of the team, going forward.(13.10.2025, 09:28)(09:28)0
SerenaJohn Campbell breaks a 23-year drought for West Indies openers with a Test hundred in India!

#INDvsWI #INDvWI #JohnCampbell
(13.10.2025, 05:49)(05:49)0
SerenaLet's celebrate that Ind will have to bat again as a notable achievement(13.10.2025, 05:32)(05:32)0
SerenaDefeat in Ahmedabad, we move to Delhi with an aim to the level the series.

#INDvWI | #MenInMaroon
(04.10.2025, 10:38)(10:38)0
Serena? USA Cricket Files for Bankruptcy

The Chapter 11 filing makes it the first known ICC member to declare bankruptcy. ⚡?
(03.10.2025, 12:22)(12:22)0
SerenaA maiden test wicket for Khary Pierre ends a challenging day 2️⃣

#INDvWI
(03.10.2025, 12:15)(12:15)0
SerenaWhy is WI best batter batting at #6 and why is he even keeping wickets in test?(03.10.2025, 07:26)(07:26)0
SerenaGive warrican vice captain on wat basis the man does nothing not even help chase(03.10.2025, 07:10)(07:10)0
SerenaWI waiting for declaration. India most likely will declare if or when both Jurel and Jadeja get to their 100s.(03.10.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
Kade162 all out : India 121-2 stumps, day1(02.10.2025, 16:00)(16:00)0
Serenaif marriage certificate could get expire like driver's licence a lot of married men will never renew it(27.09.2025, 10:54)(10:54)0
WarrenJameis Winston is asked about being named QB3 on the Giants' roster behind Russell Wilson and Jaxson Dart:

"As a competitor, you want to be the starter. But I prepare to be the starter, I know I'm a starter in this league.

But you have to be able to be grateful for your role...my role right now is to assist Russ and Jaxson to be the best that they can be while preparing to be the best that I can be.

No matter if I'm 3, 33, this is my first year being number 19, so it's always a first for everything.

I focus on what I would love. And what I would love is for this team to have success."
(13.09.2025, 10:58)(10:58)0
Monicae(11.09.2025, 17:03)(17:03)0
RylandLol... Hetmyer. Fell agonizingly short of his century! Just 91 more he needed!(08.09.2025, 05:53)(05:53)0
RylandThe progress of the PPP government should not be judged by the dissenting voices of a few, but by the tangible benefits it has brought to everyone.(02.09.2025, 17:51)(17:51)0
Warren2 firefighters battling Washington state wildfire arrested by Border Patrol(29.08.2025, 10:51)(10:51)0
SalvadorPresident Ali hints at possible Christmas cash grant(27.08.2025, 12:36)(12:36)0
Sierrahi(27.08.2025, 12:07)(12:07)0
SergioWhat food could you eat every day of the week because you love it so much?(25.08.2025, 13:41)(13:41)0
KingsleyIsrael strikes a Gaza hospital twice, killing at least 20, including journalists and rescuers(25.08.2025, 11:27)(11:27)0
KingsleyShubman Gill returns to India's T20I squad as vice-captain for Asia Cup(20.08.2025, 12:54)(12:54)0
KingstonCanada's government forced Air Canada and its striking flight attendants back to work and into arbitration Saturday after a work stoppage stranded more than 100,000 travelers around the world.(16.08.2025, 18:08)(18:08)0
KingsleyGovernment papers found in an Alaskan hotel reveal new details of Trump-Putin summit(16.08.2025, 17:59)(17:59)0
LawrenceI'm confused how a cemetery can raise its funeral prices and blame it on the cost of living. ?(15.08.2025, 07:03)(07:03)0
LawrenceNext up West Indies play Nepal in a 3 match series (T20i), starting on the 27th Sept.(13.08.2025, 13:49)(13:49)0
Dominic