19 Jan 2017 12:56 #332972
Sudesh Rani says she was verbally abused due to her caste while shopping
"They started calling me a low caste Chamar, a dirty b!tch...
At that time, I got a bit frightened, I thought 'no, no :this can't be happening.'"
19 Jan 2017 12:57 #332973
The caste system originates in India but many British Asians
say they suffer caste discrimination in the UK
19 Jan 2017 13:00 #332974
India's caste system is among the world's oldest surviving forms of social stratification.
However, some British Asians say they still experience discrimination due to their caste.
So, why are so many Hindu bodies in the UK opposed to this being made illegal ?
19 Jan 2017 13:05 #332976
but she fair skin. I thought that was wat really counted ::confused::
19 Jan 2017 13:05 #332977
The 42-year-old from Bedford identifies herself as Ravidassia
- a group regarded by some as at the lower end of the caste system. :-[
19 Jan 2017 13:07 #332978
but she fair skin! I tort dat dat count fuh all ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::
19 Jan 2017 13:20 #332980
Dem bobbician bhais will avoid so Maps, here's the (drum roll,please)BBC !
It is described as a hierarchy of four varnas - or caste categories -
found in Hindu scriptures, with :
Brahmins (priests and teachers) at the top
followed by kshatriyas (rulers and soldiers)
vaishyas (merchants and traders)
shudras (labourers and artisans).
Beneath them all are the dalits - so-called "untouchables"
- who are completely excluded from society.
19 Jan 2017 13:27 #332981
"As a result, there are many Hindus would prefer the issue remain under the radar"
sounds familiar ?? England hindus are the same as USA hindus.
Dem wanna stay
Off de Radar
The Caste Divide, on BBC iPlayer.