Netflix Canada needs to pull plug on racist Bollywood films: Paradkar

03 Nov 2017 08:28 #353499 by chairman
Documentaries such as 13th, movies such as Beasts of No Nation, TV shows such as Narcos — Netflix is host to some mind-expanding infotainment, with shows that are centred on the voices of those whose stories are being told, their locales, their perspectives, their narratives.

Netflix is perceived as edgy, it appears to get “doing the right thing”; it dumped House of Cards faster than you could say, “Claire for president!” after allegations emerged about creepy Kevin’s sexual misconduct with young actors.

Plus, it didn’t back down from airing Dear White People, despite the outrage of those who deemed it racist for not centering on the feelings of white people.

So far, so good.

Why, then, why does it beam bigoted Bollywood movies into our homes?

Bollywood is not to be confused with Indian cinema — there are marvelous independent films in various languages. Bollywood refers to Hindi films by big studios, with big stars, big bucks, formulaic rom/com song-and-dance.

This genre of cinema also peddles sexist ideas, homophobia, colourism/shadeism and increasingly racism, specifically, anti-Black racism — all delivered as light-hearted fun. Never mind that it has an outsized influence on personal and social decisions such as whom to marry, whom to hire, whom to value, whom to discard.

I was looking for a break recently from bigotry, racism and sexism, the stressful discourse of which informs my work life.

03 Nov 2017 09:01 #353500 by The Captain
what is his problem

03 Nov 2017 09:35 #353501 by mapoui

whose problem: Chairman :(

03 Nov 2017 09:36 #353502 by mapoui
or Netflix?
Netflix is not a person

03 Nov 2017 09:38 - 03 Nov 2017 09:39 #353503 by mapoui
Paradkhar???

or hor! he!

he appears to have a legit concern eh :ohmy: :ohmy:

WAT!! Indos are not racist :angry: :angry: are you serious :woohoo: :woohoo: :woohoo:
Last edit: 03 Nov 2017 09:39 by mapoui.

03 Nov 2017 10:21 #353505 by ketchim
who cares ? I have never seen a Bollywood film !
i know of some actors because of the girls on this forum being fans.

03 Nov 2017 11:13 #353514 by mapoui
yuh nevah see a Bollywood :blush: :blush: :blush:

I start about 3..cud nevah finish..too much fantasy fuh me.

some of the music was nice but I din have to watch the movies to hear the music. it was otherwise available

03 Nov 2017 11:28 #353520 by The Captain
No! what concern

03 Nov 2017 11:51 #353526 by mapoui

you read wat he wrote..didn't you :blink:

you did not read it then....:huh: :huh:

wat yuh making noise for then :dry: :dry:

03 Nov 2017 12:03 #353530 by The Captain
I read it he is an idiot

he must be a bigot himself

Time to create page: 0.177 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0

Gwen-1" OR 3*2>999 --(03.01.2026, 13:34)(13:34)0
Gwen-1" OR 5*5=25 --(03.01.2026, 13:34)(13:34)0
Gwen-1' OR 5*5=26 --(03.01.2026, 13:34)(13:34)0
Gwen-1 OR 3*2>5(03.01.2026, 13:34)(13:34)0
Gwen-1 OR 3*2>999(03.01.2026, 13:34)(13:34)0
Gwen-1 OR 5*5=25(03.01.2026, 13:34)(13:34)0
Gwen-1 OR 3*2>5 --(03.01.2026, 13:34)(13:34)0
Gwen-1 OR 3*2>999 --(03.01.2026, 13:34)(13:34)0
Gwen-1 OR 5*5=25 --(03.01.2026, 13:34)(13:34)0
Gwen20(03.01.2026, 13:34)(13:34)0
Gwen204tYynwAI(03.01.2026, 13:34)(13:34)0
Gwen20(03.01.2026, 12:02)(12:02)0
WalkerKhawaja to retire from international cricket after SCG Ashes finale(02.01.2026, 17:17)(17:17)1
Tucker