09 Nov 2017 13:26 #353948
One in every three women in the world experience or are exposed to gender-based violence and for this growing problem to be addressed holistically women must have economic empowerment, Chief of Staff of the US State Department Office of Global Women’s Issues, Anita Botti, says.
Botti, addressing a number of Caribbean journalists at the US State Department in Washington DC, quoted a World Bank report which stated that all of the Caribbean islands have higher rates of sexual violence than the rest of the world.
09 Nov 2017 13:27 #353949
She however admitted that while gender-based violence is a big problem in the Caribbean it is not exclusive to this region.
Botti’s involvement with the State Department dates back to 1985 and she has a long history of working on women’s rights and other issues in the US and other parts of the world.
09 Nov 2017 13:30 #353951
“For us when we talk about gender-based violence, it is a pretty broad area because we are talking about it globally…,” Botti said.
She also told the journalists — ten women and one man — who are on a five-day Women’s Empowerment Reporting Tour, that while many times it is violence against women to effectively combat the problem the involvement of men and children is critical or it “doesn’t get better”. And while laws are important the will to implement the law is equally important.
09 Nov 2017 13:40 #353953
“Women are not victims, they are incredible and very resourceful and as such the office has put in place a strategy that focuses on political participation, economic empowerment and combating gender-based violence,” Botti said.
09 Nov 2017 13:56 #353955
Botti said women in politics are critical and that there is need for more women in decision-making to address gender-based violence and economic empowerment.
“Because [the two issues] go hand in hand, they don’t always appear that way…but I can assure you, I am old I have worked on the trafficking, the policy and the legislation; I am here to tell that until you raise that part of the ledger, the way to giving women options whether it is economic options, options over their ability to have healthy families, to be educated they will not have the choice in some cases,” she said.
09 Nov 2017 14:11 #353957
She pointed out that gender-based violence is presented differently in different parts of the world but the most common is domestic violence.
“Domestic violence is not new to any part of the world and certainly in this country…we spent 20 years in this country to get a domestic violence law,” she revealed.
09 Nov 2017 16:06 #353968
where deh get this pure fiction from???????
we always had female equality in the west indies...and while there has always been family violence I don't now dat it was ever a problem of any dam significance comparable to a rate among the highest in the world.
and who is the source of all this...an american government official..the same government that made homosexuality legal and teach it in the schools to kindergarten chirren.
all of this is likely some oblique attack on the family again...another attack on the west indian family..another set of coordinates that mean nutten at all but which we have to deal with with all its attendant dangers... because the skunt americans raise it
09 Nov 2017 19:58 #353975
I did not read all chairman put up but who did the study and how does it break down regionally into all the necessary headings?.
where did all that is reported above come from?