12 Dec 2017 09:28 #355934
Another former Facebook executive has spoken out about the harm the social network is doing to civil society around the world. Chamath Palihapitiya, who joined Facebook in 2007 and became its vice president for user growth, said he feels “tremendous guilt” about the company he helped make. “I think we have created tools that are ripping apart the social fabric of how society works,” he told an audience at Stanford Graduate School of Business, before recommending people take a “hard break” from social media.
12 Dec 2017 09:28 #355935
Palihapitiya’s criticisms were aimed not only at Facebook, but the wider online ecosystem. “The short-term, dopamine-driven feedback loops we’ve created are destroying how society works,” he said, referring to online interactions driven by “hearts, likes, thumbs-up.” “No civil discourse, no cooperation; misinformation, mistruth. And it’s not an American problem — this is not about Russians ads. This is a global problem.”
12 Dec 2017 09:29 #355936
He went on to describe an incident in India where hoax messages about kidnappings shared on WhatsApp led to the lynching of seven innocent people. “That’s what we’re dealing with,” said Palihapitiya. “And imagine taking that to the extreme, where bad actors can now manipulate large swathes of people to do anything you want. It’s just a really, really bad state of affairs.” He says he tries to use Facebook as little as possible, and that his children “aren’t allowed to use that shit.” He later adds, though, that he believes the company “overwhelmingly does good in the world.”
12 Dec 2017 13:34 #355978
I had some too. I was a member of facebook..a couple of months then I got out. eff facebook..and youtube too.
youtube is a good platform but those who control it are the pits. its time for a new free youtube.
in fact its time for a new internet. how can that be accomplished..an internet outside capitalist control?
13 Dec 2017 01:58 #355996
well I wud have to but I think we are all finished anyway. I can see the days of humanity running out like sand in the upper end of the bottle as gravity does its work. we...you captain..left the white man in charge way too long and he has fucked the world up. he is about to collapse and he is going to take us all with him.
tobago wont save anybody. there is no where to hide anymore
13 Dec 2017 02:03 #355997
take it easy anyway captain...but be careful. don t take vacation trips to Tricky with Googly and Ketchim.
I promise to meet then when they settle by a doubles cyart in Sando..the doubles capital. if you do you will have to be part of their plan...one at a time to eat and kick back coconut wartuh....while the other lookin' out!!
but deh shud not worry. I will only tickle their ribs with the cutlass I will have. I told dem dat already. I don't chop people only tickle their ribs