A shooting in the Eaton Centre food court has left one dead and seven othersinju

04 Jun 2012 15:51 #88667 by VillageBelle
this reporter says it the best......Fiorito: Eaton Centre shooter a loserPublished On Mon Jun 4 2012
By Joe Fiorito City Columnist Music blared from Yonge-Dundas Square, the sound track for some sort of stationary-bicycle race for dignity; meanwhile, a movie crew idled around the corner, movies being the only shooting we want in this town.
And I was thinking this:
You two-bit thug. You thing. You it. You worse than the scum I scrape off my shoe. The man you targeted is dead. Whether it was drugs, or retaliation, or — sorry, there is no possible reason for a man to die like that.
Innocent people were wounded, and hundreds were scared witless; no reason. You made us observers and participants in your puny little war. No reason.
You lousy s.o.b.
None of us were wearing flak jackets, but all of us were thinking this: why do we have to be brave to come downtown; why should it take guts to sit on a hard chair at an easy-to-wipe table in a lousy little food court; why must we worry when all we want to do is to buy a pair of shoes, get a bite to eat and go home again; and, why, for the love of all that’s holy, should the smell of salt and fat now remind some people of a battlefield?
You worthless chicken.
It doesn’t take any courage to sneak up and take someone by surprise. It takes the opposite of courage.
The way gangs did it once upon a time — unless it was all-out war, and even then — was to take care of business one on one, face to face, man to man, where nobody was going to get hurt except those who were supposed to get hurt.
To open fire in a crowd? To hurt children? To inflict terror upon the innocent? That’s the act of a sick boy, not a man. You’re not a bad-ass, you’re a sad-ass. And, if you have any brains, you’re scared.
Is it a thrill, to be the most-wanted? Do you like hiding under your bed with the lights out, the curtains drawn, the radio turned down low? Do you think, if you get a haircut and a hat, that no one will know who you are when you try to sneak around?
Enjoy the frisson while it lasts.
The history of this stuff, based on the track record of the cops, suggests you don’t have long. The only thing long is the sentence you’ll get when you are caught.
If you had any guts, you’d turn yourself in today and save us all some time.
Your mother’s heart is broken now, and your father’s head is sore. Or, if your mother was one of those bad mothers, and if you father was a crap dad, then it’s even worse because you could have been their redemption.
You sucker.
Now the cops are going to trample you, and there isn’t a civil libertarian in this town who will not look the other way when you show up in court with a broken cheek, a split lip, a splintered rib.
For making life hell for the rest of us, for taking life, and for wrecking lives, screw you.
The novelist in me wonders about the woman who went into labour, and the child whose impulse toward the light was provoked by bullets in a crowd: What lullabies will that mother sing, and what questions will a child have who heard, in utero, gunshots?
Will that child be a cop, a novelist, a lawyer, a doctor, a food court fry cook, a journalist, a jazz percussionist, or a painter whose themes are public space defined by police tape? I’ve got news: that child will be anything but a thug like you.
Joe Fiorito appears Monday, Wednesday and Friday. Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
www.thestar.com/news/article/1205253--fi...ntre-shooter-a-loser

• artemis
04 Jun 2012 15:52 #88668 by artemis
no wonder no guyanese don't want to own this guy...he's black.  :kiss: :cheesy:

• Ryan
04 Jun 2012 16:45 #88679 by Ryan
GT MASSIVE...bluck bluck

• Snoopster
04 Jun 2012 16:59 #88684 by Snoopster
That guy came here when he was 13.  He practically grew up in Canada.  And now the police are saying the shooting was even gang related as it appears the shooter and the victim had some personal issues between them.

04 Jun 2012 17:22 #88687 by mapoui
I was'nt hooked up Ketchim...I was on the phone trying to do some business for most of the past 4 hours..

I just tuned in because I knew you guys would be on the ball and you turned out to be right.

I did not want yu to be right and I could not make that bet for obvious reasons. 

this is an awful, sickdiculous, terrible development for blac people in this part of the world.  I am stunned man.  it never ends...stupid self-destructive blac behaviour.

where will this go now..what will it cost us as a people?

oh bwoy!

04 Jun 2012 17:27 #88688 by The Captain
I cknow

04 Jun 2012 17:29 #88690 by mapoui
at this time captain!?

please decipher?

try to be a lil legible fuh once! :angry:

04 Jun 2012 17:34 #88691 by ketchim

Turns out the young man came here from GT as a youth in 2000 :

which is even worse for us Guyanese ..

I will find out who his Parents are  :sad:

• Ryan
04 Jun 2012 20:40 #88710 by Ryan
im reading through the user comments on various articles.

very much like america yet fascinatingly different.

05 Jun 2012 09:02 #88720 by Nargis
if this guy was on house arrest - how come the police didnt know where he was when he stepped out of range from his house? wouldnt he have had on the ankle bracelet thing?

i would want answers from the police - the city needs to look into that and if so a lawsuit on them as well!

Time to create page: 0.191 seconds
JulieFormer Jets and Commanders WR Laveranues Coles completed nine months of training at the Jacksonville Sheriff's Office Academy and will officially become an officer after his probationary period ?(02.12.2025, 14:36)(14:36)0
JulieHeartbreaking to hear of the passing of former England cricketer Robin Smith ?

Our thoughts are with his friends and family at this difficult time ?

Rest in peace, Judge ?
(02.12.2025, 12:56)(12:56)0
JulieJUST IN: Andre Russell calls time on his IPL career and will join KKR’s support staff for 2026 ‼️(30.11.2025, 14:06)(14:06)0
TravisShoppers spend billions on Black Friday to snag holiday deals, despite wider economic uncertainty(29.11.2025, 17:11)(17:11)0
TravisSnow, rain and cold in store for some Thanksgiving travelers(29.11.2025, 17:10)(17:10)0
TravisThe pitch at Perth Stadium was rated "very good" despite a two-day finish in the first Ashes Test(29.11.2025, 10:57)(10:57)0
TravisWe are two days out or so from the start of the New Zealand vs West Indies test series.(29.11.2025, 10:51)(10:51)0
TravisPat Cummins did look brilliant in the nets over in Perth but will only be readier for his return come the 3rd Test in Adelaide, which should work perfectly for Australia, especially now that they’re 1-0 up going to the Gabba(29.11.2025, 10:41)(10:41)0
JulieSad news: Thirty minutes ago in Dallas, the family of former Dallas Cowboys icon Drew Pearson, aged 73, unexpectedly announced that he has passed away(29.11.2025, 08:00)(08:00)0
TravisPat Cummins is set to be included in Australia’s squad for the upcoming second Ashes Test against England in Brisbane, according to reports.(28.11.2025, 15:19)(15:19)0
TravisSuspect in shooting of National Guard members now facing a first-degree murder charge(28.11.2025, 14:24)(14:24)0
TravisLake effect snow piles up in Great Lakes region, impacting Thanksgiving travel(28.11.2025, 08:50)(08:50)0
TravisChiefs vs. Cowboys preview Week 13

Perhaps the most perplexing aspect of AT&T Stadium, otherwise known as “Jerry World,” is the glare from the sun that bursts through the windows and shines directly onto the field. Time and time again the glare has impacted players’ visibility during games, yet Jerry Jones refuses to make any changes to account for the sun.

Rather than install curtains, Jones has previously said he feels it’s a home-field advantage to have that type of stadium factor impacting games. Well, the glare ended up benefitting the Chiefs early into Thursday’s Thanksgiving game, as a pass from Dak Prescott to George Pickens fell incomplete, at least in part due to the impact of the sun’s glare.
(27.11.2025, 21:18)(21:18)0
TravisAT&T Stadium Glare Led to Plenty of Comments From NFL Fans During Chiefs-Cowboys(27.11.2025, 21:17)(21:17)0
TravisKittitian allrounder Kunal Tilokani earns U19 call upKittitian allrounder Kunal Tilokani earns U19 call up(27.11.2025, 13:19)(13:19)0
Travis'Wanted them to really grovel' - SA coach Shukri Conrad on keeping India on the field(25.11.2025, 18:29)(18:29)0
JulieHi(25.11.2025, 08:45)(08:45)0
Juliemotie 130 notout guyana 250(25.11.2025, 08:44)(08:44)0
Matthewhi(25.11.2025, 07:00)(07:00)0
Julie19 wickets fall between Aus and Eng and it’s great cricket, 19 wickets fall between W.I and any other country and we should be relegated…the double standards in world cricket.(21.11.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
Travisketchim?(12.11.2025, 17:40)(17:40)0
Traviskwami?(12.11.2025, 17:40)(17:40)0
Traviswho is this(12.11.2025, 17:39)(17:39)0
AlvinChairmsn, I cant Log in(11.11.2025, 17:16)(17:16)0
SerenaThis batting performance by the West Indies in the second innings blew me away. I kept closing my eyes and then rubbing and opening them again and sat transfixed as I watch that unbelievable partnership between John Campbell and Shai Hope. What a magnificent performance by these two! It just goes to show that patience, determination and effort can go a long way to improve the performances of the West Indies team. Let us hope that this effort by West Indies batsmen would not be a one-off performance, but will be the beginning of a renewed effort to improve the performances of the team, going forward.(13.10.2025, 09:28)(09:28)0
SerenaJohn Campbell breaks a 23-year drought for West Indies openers with a Test hundred in India!

#INDvsWI #INDvWI #JohnCampbell
(13.10.2025, 05:49)(05:49)0
SerenaLet's celebrate that Ind will have to bat again as a notable achievement(13.10.2025, 05:32)(05:32)0
SerenaDefeat in Ahmedabad, we move to Delhi with an aim to the level the series.

#INDvWI | #MenInMaroon
(04.10.2025, 10:38)(10:38)0
Serena? USA Cricket Files for Bankruptcy

The Chapter 11 filing makes it the first known ICC member to declare bankruptcy. ⚡?
(03.10.2025, 12:22)(12:22)0
SerenaA maiden test wicket for Khary Pierre ends a challenging day 2️⃣

#INDvWI
(03.10.2025, 12:15)(12:15)0
SerenaWhy is WI best batter batting at #6 and why is he even keeping wickets in test?(03.10.2025, 07:26)(07:26)0
SerenaGive warrican vice captain on wat basis the man does nothing not even help chase(03.10.2025, 07:10)(07:10)0
SerenaWI waiting for declaration. India most likely will declare if or when both Jurel and Jadeja get to their 100s.(03.10.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
Kade162 all out : India 121-2 stumps, day1(02.10.2025, 16:00)(16:00)0
Serenaif marriage certificate could get expire like driver's licence a lot of married men will never renew it(27.09.2025, 10:54)(10:54)0
WarrenJameis Winston is asked about being named QB3 on the Giants' roster behind Russell Wilson and Jaxson Dart:

"As a competitor, you want to be the starter. But I prepare to be the starter, I know I'm a starter in this league.

But you have to be able to be grateful for your role...my role right now is to assist Russ and Jaxson to be the best that they can be while preparing to be the best that I can be.

No matter if I'm 3, 33, this is my first year being number 19, so it's always a first for everything.

I focus on what I would love. And what I would love is for this team to have success."
(13.09.2025, 10:58)(10:58)0
Monicae(11.09.2025, 17:03)(17:03)0
RylandLol... Hetmyer. Fell agonizingly short of his century! Just 91 more he needed!(08.09.2025, 05:53)(05:53)0
RylandThe progress of the PPP government should not be judged by the dissenting voices of a few, but by the tangible benefits it has brought to everyone.(02.09.2025, 17:51)(17:51)0
Warren2 firefighters battling Washington state wildfire arrested by Border Patrol(29.08.2025, 10:51)(10:51)0
SalvadorPresident Ali hints at possible Christmas cash grant(27.08.2025, 12:36)(12:36)0
Sierrahi(27.08.2025, 12:07)(12:07)0
SergioWhat food could you eat every day of the week because you love it so much?(25.08.2025, 13:41)(13:41)0
KingsleyIsrael strikes a Gaza hospital twice, killing at least 20, including journalists and rescuers(25.08.2025, 11:27)(11:27)0
KingsleyShubman Gill returns to India's T20I squad as vice-captain for Asia Cup(20.08.2025, 12:54)(12:54)0
KingstonCanada's government forced Air Canada and its striking flight attendants back to work and into arbitration Saturday after a work stoppage stranded more than 100,000 travelers around the world.(16.08.2025, 18:08)(18:08)0
KingsleyGovernment papers found in an Alaskan hotel reveal new details of Trump-Putin summit(16.08.2025, 17:59)(17:59)0
LawrenceI'm confused how a cemetery can raise its funeral prices and blame it on the cost of living. ?(15.08.2025, 07:03)(07:03)0
LawrenceNext up West Indies play Nepal in a 3 match series (T20i), starting on the 27th Sept.(13.08.2025, 13:49)(13:49)0
JayleeFor the first time since 1991, we have won a bilateral series v Pakistan!??

What a win!?
(12.08.2025, 16:57)(16:57)0
Kaysen