27 Nov 2012 18:17 #112620
wat is practical is all man. and yuh need freedom to be practical.
actually in the heat it's best to be naked :shocked: :shocked:
:cheesy: :cheesy: :cheesy:
wilf
28 Nov 2012 09:55 #112633
by wilf
When I first read this story, I thought the idea was to ban mini-skirts, jeans and denim throughout the whole of Jamaica! I suppose banning them in the parliament's public gallery is fair enough. After all, a parliamentarian couldn't enter the chamber dressed like that, so why should it be any different in the gallery?
Perhaps there's a whiff of sexism in the rules, though.
28 Nov 2012 10:04 #112645
in the first place the jamaica parliament have no moral right to be setting any standards at all. they actual standard they have set for generations is absolute, extreme political corruption.
and deh wear hot stiffling suits in a tropical reality. naked skin would be more practical!
so what dem wud respectful wear in the parliament be, if not short skirts and jeans. and how come clothes is an issue in a horrific social situation like Jamaica?
most Jamaicans doh have much of that. and I doubt a lot of them can afford suits. so if deh have to go to parliament for any reason..what should deh wear that would be 'respectful'
I doubt most Jamaican people go to their parliament. deh have no routine business here save to burn it down.
maybe the politicans up in there lookin' fuh attenton by creating a faux issue of dress codes
maddie
28 Nov 2012 12:03 #112698
by maddie
Honestly governments should not interfere so much with peoples personal lives. I would wear jeans.. no issues.. but may never wear miniskirts... personal preference.. and values.. But this is upto each individual in my honest opinion.
28 Nov 2012 12:06 #112699
anyhow..it could also be that Portia and dem doh want the Jamaican people coming into the parliament to listen to what's going on and get themselves smart.
maybe too many of them comming in and Portia and dem get frighten.
so looking fuh ways to keep them out they light on dress code.
if deh make the dress code prohibitive..too expensive for the people to afford... then we know deh want to keep the people out