• Mail
10 Nov 2013 18:48 #162383 by Mail
Ketchy I am so sorry to hear this.

Ina Lillahi wa inna ilaihi raji'un.

We pray they rest in peace in Jannah.

So sorry to hear your news mate, so sorry.

10 Nov 2013 18:58 #162390 by ketchim

10 Nov 2013 18:58 #162391 by ketchim
Two seniors killed at train crossing south of Edmonton

WETASKIWIN, Alta. — The Canadian Press

An elderly man and woman are dead after one tried to save the other from the path of a freight train at a crossing in a community

south of Edmonton.RCMP say the man, who was in his 80s, tripped and fell on the tracks at a major railway crossing in downtown

Insp. Scott Tod said the woman, who was in her 70s, was pushing an empty wheelchair ahead of him. :'(

10 Nov 2013 19:03 #162393 by chairman
    Wetaskiwin couple killed by train after woman went back for spouse (with video)  By Cailynn Klingbeil and Jodie Sinnema, Edmonton Journal November 1, 2013                 
  • Story
  • Photos ( 1 )
  • Video ( 2 )
    Cliff Reed describes the scene at fatal train crash.WETASKIWIN - An elderly couple died Thursday after one tried to save the other from the path of a freight train at a crossing on Wetaskiwin’s main street.
The southbound Canadian Pacific freight train hit the couple as they were crossing the tracks near 50th Street and 50th Avenue shortly after 11:30 a.m.
Neighbour Sue Lewthwaite identified the woman as Nazmoon Charran and the man only as Daniel. Charran was believed to be in her 70s and Daniel, 80.
The couple lived a few blocks from the tracks and crossed regularly to get to their business, Main St. Flea Market, Lewthwaite said.
“They were always out and about and going somewhere, doing something. They were very active,” said Lewthwaite, who lived across the street from the couple for seven years.
“I’d go over and have coffee, go for a visit, and would come out in tears because they had me in stitches. I was laughing so much about all their different stories and their adventures.”
RCMP said the man tripped and fell on the tracks.
Insp. Scott Tod said the woman was pushing an empty wheelchair ahead of him. She went back to help as the train approached.
The warning lights, bells and barricades were all working, Tod said.
Witnesses who saw the crash described seeing a body under the train, another body on the road and a wheelchair nearby. Some said the wheelchair had become stuck in the tracks.
Taren Bonter, a branch manager for Cash Canada Financial, was with clients when she heard the train blow its whistle.
“We heard the train honking. It isn’t unusual, but it’s unusual it happened that many times,” she said.
Bonter went out the rear of her store, which backs onto the tracks and is separated from them by a wire fence, and saw two bodies and a wheelchair.
Nicolette Braun was walking to a store with her 16-year-old son when she heard a crash and the squeal of the train’s brakes.
“They both died because the one wouldn’t let the other one be stuck on the tracks. What a hero,” Braun said.
Cherie and Don Johnson own Storybook Ink, a tattoo parlour that backs onto the railway tracks.
“It’s just a tragic event,” Don Johnson said. “It wasn’t a pleasant sight.”
“If you’re panicking and can’t get (the wheelchair) out, I’m not just going to leave my husband there,” Cherie Johnson said.
The Johnsons estimate trains travel on the tracks at least once an hour during the daytime and often make the ground vibrate.
The victims would get a ride from neighbours or friends when needed, but mostly got around on foot.
“I gave them a ride to the airport and the next thing I know, Nazmoon is knocking on the door and has baked me something,” Lewthwaite said. “They were the kindest, sweetest people.”
Shawn Thomas, owner of Access Furniture, said Charran was scheduled Friday to fly to Cuba and often went on adventures to Mexico and around the world.
Tami Williams, manager of Jayded Hair across the street from the flea market, walks across the same tracks every day about 9:30 a.m. and is often stopped by a train.
“It comes with a fury sometimes, flying through,” she said. “I’ve seen kids going flying across. What if you fall or get your foot caught?”
Mark Elder, owner of Jasper Studio, was saving a wood cabinet for the woman to buy and use in her store.
“She was the one who ran the store,” Elder said, noting the woman was five-foot-two and her husband had become immobile in the last year.
The woman had recently told Elder her husband had turned 80.
“He was her full-time job,” Elder said.
He estimated the couple had run the flea market for about 10 years.
Cliff Reed, owner of Reed Cycle, said too many people try to race over the tracks when a train approaches.
“It’s been people thinking they will beat the train and the train always wins,” Reed said.
He called CP’s safety record in town “phenomenal” and said the company constantly maintained the track. “It’s more human carelessness that causes things to happen.”
James Carmichael, regional senior investigator for the Transportation Safety Board of Canada, was on scene Thursday investigating the collision.
He said he did not know what the speed limit was for trains in the area, nor what speed the train was travelling when it hit the couple.
“This is a tragic incident all around and our heartfelt sympathies go out to the families and friends of those involved in this,” said Kevin Hrysak, a spokesman for CP.
The incident remains under investigation. Witnesses were asked to call Wetaskiwin RCMP.

10 Nov 2013 19:09 #162394 by chairman
my heart goes out the family and aunty naz

10 Nov 2013 19:23 #162397 by ketchim
I did not even get to attend the Funeral.

news reached me sooooo late  :(

• Mail
10 Nov 2013 19:54 #162412 by Mail
Sorry I thought you said London but either way condolences.

Time to create page: 0.215 seconds
ketchimLost the final Game but win series 3 games to 2 !(05.05.2024, 12:27)(12:27)0
NasirJohnson Charles 101* off 55 balls vs Nepal today

On the day the West Indies WC squad is named, a timely knock to remind us of what he is capable of
(01.05.2024, 13:09)(13:09)0
ketchimNepal beat West Indies in 1st T20 !(27.04.2024, 11:00)(11:00)0
CindyYes he is trying commentator gig !(26.04.2024, 21:52)(21:52)0
JudeQuestion??? Has Carlos Brathwaite retired from cricket ????(26.04.2024, 13:28)(13:28)0
ketchimCongrats to Guyana for 4 day red ball and CPL white ball Champions !(20.04.2024, 21:20)(21:20)0
JaniyahCongrats to Guyana Harpy Eagles on winning 4 day regional tournament - 2 years in a row(20.04.2024, 18:48)(18:48)0
ketchimEid Mubarak !(10.04.2024, 08:58)(08:58)0
ketchimGuyana Win the U-15 with Adrian Hetmeyer !(04.04.2024, 13:28)(13:28)0
ketchimU-15 Guyana Hetmeyer doing great !(01.04.2024, 22:35)(22:35)0
JaniyahCenturies for Tagenarine Chanderpaul and Tevin Imlach against Windward Islands in Antigua on day three.

Guyana declared on 224-2; Windwards need 420 runs to win.

Scorecard: https://matchcentre.windiescricket.com/match/13df0ffb-dfc3-4d3a-94bd-17426751e07c/scorecard

#cricnation592 #Guyana #TagenarineChanderpaul #TevinImlach #cricketnews #cricketlovers
(22.03.2024, 17:54)(17:54)0
JaniyahGuyana 436 all out, Permaul 90*,Anderson 87, Sinclair 72, Imlach 55, Chanderpaul 40.Roach 2/52, Jason H. 2/52, Warrican 2/98.(14.03.2024, 18:23)(18:23)0
MadisynThe United States will send a new military aid package for Ukraine worth $300 million, President Joe Biden's administration said on Tuesday, the first such move in months as additional funds for Kyiv remain blocked by Republican leaders in Congress(12.03.2024, 20:23)(20:23)0
ketchimRamadan BEGIND tonight !(10.03.2024, 12:52)(12:52)0
SawyerHeavy gunfire near Haiti's National Palace in Port-au-Prince(09.03.2024, 19:34)(19:34)0
MadisynBiden Signs $460 Billion Spending Package, Averting Government Shutdown(09.03.2024, 18:57)(18:57)0
MadisynGaza ceasefire talks end with no breakthrough as Ramadan deadline looms(05.03.2024, 07:05)(07:05)0
SawyerPutin ally says 'Ukraine is Russia' and historical territory needs to 'come home'(04.03.2024, 18:56)(18:56)0
MadisynJetBlue, Spirit Airlines call off $3.8 bln merger on antitrust hurdle(04.03.2024, 18:50)(18:50)0
ketchim165 not out ~(24.02.2024, 17:38)(17:38)0
ketchim1658 to Kevin Sinclair ~(24.02.2024, 17:38)(17:38)0
ketchimKane Williamson(16.02.2024, 12:22)(12:22)0
ketchimKanw 133 not out !(16.02.2024, 12:21)(12:21)0
CatherineHow Do I Know I’m Not the Only Conscious Being in the Universe?(13.02.2024, 10:33)(10:33)0
CollinI am writing to express my sincere gratitude for the information that you have provided on your website. I have found your site to be an invaluable resource of information, and I have learned a great deal from the articles and resources that you have shared.(11.02.2024, 13:05)(13:05)0
Collinbla... bla... bla...(11.02.2024, 13:05)(13:05)0
Collinthis was Sixes....semis next !(11.02.2024, 13:04)(13:04)0
CollinThe article is really good. I found here looking for a good article because my heart was empty. There are a lot of different articles, so reading them makes me feel a bit empty. Next time I want to read an article about ... please(11.02.2024, 13:04)(13:04)0
CollinThis blog post resonated with me on so many levels. Your personal anecdotes and real-life examples added a relatable touch to the topic. I could feel your passion and expertise shining through every word. I'd love to hear more about your experiences and insights on [related topic]. Thank you for sharing your blog wisdom and inspiring others in the process!(11.02.2024, 13:03)(13:03)0
CollinThis is very fascinating, You are an excessively skilled
blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look ahead to in quest of extra of your magnificent post.
Additionally, I’ve shared your website in my social networks
(11.02.2024, 13:01)(13:01)0
CollinVoucher to najlepsza forma prezentu dla ukochanej osoby. Taki bon podarunkowy, czyli voucher, czy też kartę podarunkową, możemy dać bez stresu ponieważ daje on możliwość wyboru w momencie korzystania, a to dla wielu osób jest najważniejsze. Kup voucher, spraw radość bliskim osobom i nie martw się, że prezent będzie nietrafiony.(11.02.2024, 13:00)(13:00)0
CollinMasaż jest to metoda leczenia znana od wielu lat. Zapraszam do salonu. Kliknij w podany link: drenaż limfatyczny Kielce(11.02.2024, 12:59)(12:59)0
CollinWitam. Piekny blog i opisy. Ja polecam Forum Kosmetyczne(11.02.2024, 12:58)(12:58)0
ketchimthis was Sixes....semis next !(03.02.2024, 16:22)(16:22)0
KennediSo our yute did nt make the semis because of a washout. These global contests should set aside rain days for teh semis and finals.(02.02.2024, 19:44)(19:44)0
CatherineConfirmed by Cricket West Indies that West Indies will play a County XI side in a four-day warm up match at Beckenham in Kent starting 3rd July(31.01.2024, 19:51)(19:51)0
AugustineStep Aside Sir Joffra Archer and Kagiso Rabada..
Shamar Joseph has Arrived !!!
? ? ?
(29.01.2024, 13:43)(13:43)0
ketchimAfter 27 years, a VICTORY !(28.01.2024, 13:48)(13:48)0
ketchimWest Indies brat Australia by 8 runs : Guyana Shamar 7Fer !(28.01.2024, 13:46)(13:46)0
Niko2nd Test, West indies 266/8, Da Silva 79, Hodge 71, A.Joseph 32, Mckenzie 21, Chanderpaul 21, Sinclair 16 not out .(25.01.2024, 08:26)(08:26)0
ketchimexcellent Win : Jewel 64*(24.01.2024, 11:38)(11:38)0
KareemGuyanese fast-bowler Isai Thorne took 4-46 from nine overs as West Indies restricted Scotland to 205-9 from 50 overs at the ongoing ICC Under-19 World Cup in South Africa.

This a must-win match for West Indies after they lost their opening match to the hosts by 31 runs.

(Photo: Cricket West Indies)
(24.01.2024, 10:27)(10:27)0
KareemKevin Sinclair will replace Gudakesh Motie in the second Test match in Australia.

This was confirmed by Captain Kraigg Brathwaite on the eve of the GABA Test.
(24.01.2024, 10:04)(10:04)0
MarthaVirat Kohli withdraws from first two Tests against England citing personal reasons.
BCCI has requested media and fans to respect Virat Kohli's privacy during this time and refrain from speculating on the nature of his personal reasons.
(22.01.2024, 10:57)(10:57)0
AlondraDat Jawbreaker from Joseph reminds me of Marshall !!(19.01.2024, 08:26)(08:26)0
ketchimFirst ball DUCK but was Hazlewood !(18.01.2024, 14:48)(14:48)0
AlondraTage to face(16.01.2024, 19:35)(19:35)0
AlondraStarc has the ball(16.01.2024, 19:29)(19:29)0
AlondraRally(16.01.2024, 19:29)(19:29)0
ketchimAustralia win Toss and chose to field(16.01.2024, 19:19)(19:19)0
Luca