11 Dec 2014 13:26 #227870
Ha ha ha ha, it would appear so Boqui! Lol!
Seriously you need to separate those that 'can' consistently do well at the National level and those who may not have the best numbers but possess the aptitude and temperament to rise to International standards.
Before Wavell retired he was raking in masses of runs for Jamaica but the selectors probably, quite rightly, realised that his time had passed. Odean Brown never got a look in, for example, and he was one of the top performers as were Kantasingh etc.
These days West Indian players take a very long time to warm up to International level and they learn more on the job at the higher level due to the paucity of the domestic competition. If you look at Samuels numbers they are 'still' relatively poor by International standards! A test average of 35 after 52 Tests and 33 after 162 ODIs but 'yet' he is a main selection. So we need to keep this is perspective.
I am no Smith fan but you can only select from what you have available and he is no different to Deonarine for example.
I would not have selected him as he has been consistent in his underperformance but if one of your main criteria, or one of your main criteria as is reasonable, is weight of runs scored then you have to go for him especially as an opener was required.
The selectors may have felt there is some experience in Smith and that would be a reasonable decision to take.
I have seen some new resolve under Ramdin's leadership so I will not write off this team just yet.
I think the best one can hope for is to see the Windies competing, fighting very hard to perform all disciplines as best as they could.
Best wishes to Windies and I believe they can do well.
11 Dec 2014 14:44 #227875
Samuels said. "And it was a wonderful feeling to get to the double-hundred.
I'm feeling confident about my batting.
Confident but not confident, because
the Test matches are when the real thing starts. 
11 Dec 2014 15:15 - 11 Dec 2014 15:42 #227880
hahahahahha! "weight of runs scored by Devon" ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::
I am sure a dung heap run scored by Devon weighs less than one scored by Kraigg for example..or Blackwood or any youth on the way up.
Devon may have fifty thousand dung heap runs that a child can tote if all fit into a shopping plastic bag..500 scored by Pooran for example would be a different matter altogether :-[ :-[ :-[
what weight of runs ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::
Last edit: 11 Dec 2014 15:42 by mapoui.
TRINIDADDY
11 Dec 2014 15:50 #227886
Some thoughts about this SAf Invit XI game...
1. Samuels is really really serious about his cricket now. Mentally, he's focussed.
2. Devon bats well vs domestic teams.
3. Ramdin sensibly used this game as a chance to just block balls and aclimatize himself.
4. Blackwood continues failing
5. Fuddas is making us nervous about chosing him over Deo
6. Cotterel might prove to be suited for SA conditions
7. Roach did okay, and has a history of loving SA conditions
8. Paint and Chanders both failed with super-low scores, which is odd
9. Walton shouldnt be on a test team
12 Dec 2014 10:44 #227988
oh guuuuuuude. the fries. oh Jesus H crise. allyuh see those fries? potatoes!
dat is ah real meal if those fries are real. but they look too good not to be real.
oh bwoy! meat an' potatoes..ribs!
12 Dec 2014 10:54 #227992
Kemar Roach average in these countries his stats are a more ordinary :
27 wickets in nine Tests, at an average of 36.37.
:-[
Mapoui , too much proteins , carbs and sugar ????