who the better writer ... - Printable Version +- Cricket Windies (https://cricketwindies.com) +-- Forum: What’s on Your Mind? (https://cricketwindies.com/forum-3.html) +--- Forum: The Water Cooler! (https://cricketwindies.com/forum-4.html) +--- Thread: who the better writer ... (/thread-13467.html) Pages:
who the better writer ... - Artemisback - 10-05-2013 8) Re: who the better writer ... - mapoui - 10-05-2013 yuh read all of them? Re: who the better writer ... - ketchim - 10-05-2013 the Canadian
Re: who the better writer ... - Artemisback - 10-05-2013 yes , short stories. Re: who the better writer ... - mapoui - 10-05-2013 I read Lawrence and Atwood more than 40 years ago in school here in Canada.... Margaret Lawrence was easier for me but boring..irrelevant. Gabrielle Roy seemed most relevant. but her name is not on the list is it? all middle class elitist people who don't have a clue about the whole of the life..life at the bottom of Canadian society..especially where it intersected with the impact of immigrants then burgeoning, starting up and roiling and what it portended for Canada. I did it for school. I would not have read them otherwise..even Roy who explored ordinary Quebec life..containing themes I was much more familiar with I don't know Findley Re: who the better writer ... - mapoui - 10-05-2013 I have lost interest in the technical aspects of writing as arbiter literary quality..save where I encounter creativity in the conveyance of meaning..especially when the content in question is the stock of ordinary life bubbling towards the progressive and revolutionary. by that measurement I can spend days, all day long with Naipaul on his west indian books..or James on cricket BaB if writing is not usefully relevant it means little to me..I pass it by. I am tired of the middle class to wealthy experience as determinative content of things literary... television, films, food, dress etc. truly tired of it. if I read it must be progressive, exploratory and explanatory, and indicative of ways forward for humans I am sure if one spends the necessary time with Lawrence and Atwood they would find the progressive in their work. I never found it and stopped looking quickly Re: who the better writer ... - mapoui - 10-05-2013 Timothy Findley: Quote:One of three sons, Findley was born in Toronto, Ontario, to Allan Gilmour Findley, a stockbroker, and his wife, the former Margaret Maude Bull. His paternal grandfather was president of Massey-Harris, the farm-machinery company. He was raised in the upper class Rosedale district of the city,[2] attending boarding school at St. Andrew's College (although leaving during grade 10 for health reasons). He pursued a career in the arts, studying dance and acting, and had significant success as an actor before turning to writing. He was part of the original Stratford Festival company in the 1950s,[1] acting alongside Alec Guinness, and appeared in the first production of Thornton Wilder's The Matchmaker at the Edinburgh Festival.[1] He also played Peter Pupkin in Sunshine Sketches, the CBC Television adaptation of Stephen Leacock's Sunshine Sketches of a Little Town. Re: who the better writer ... - mapoui - 10-05-2013 I think I would find Munro useful. Quote:Many of Munro's stories are set in Huron County, Ontario. Her strong regional focus is one of the features of her fiction. Another is the omniscient narrator who serves to make sense of the world. Many compare Munro's small-town settings to writers of the U.S. rural South. Her female characters, though, are more complex. Much of Munro's work exemplifies the literary genre known as Southern Ontario Gothic.[8] Re: who the better writer ... - mapoui - 10-05-2013 I neglected Lawrence Hill because of who his parents were..his father really. I saw Dan Hill not as he was portrayed in the media..as a great positive black figure..but as the opposite of that. but now that I am reminded I will go look for "Black Berry Sweet Juice" in fact I will look for it on the net right now. maybe I will get a free read. nutten better dan free! ::LOL:: Quote:Hill was born in 1957 in Newmarket, Ontario, the son of American immigrants to Canada — a black father and a white mother. Hill has written in his bestselling memoir Black Berry, Sweet Juice of how his Re: who the better writer ... - Artemisback - 10-05-2013 i read the older text in high school and, the prose/syntax/lexicon can be difficult. |