Deh Say DeVilliers! If I cared I Wud Say Amla

mapoui · 03-08-2014, 05:33 PM · 1 person reading this discussion

Is Thami a good replacement for Mark Boucher  ? 

The Loss of Boucher , Kallis and now Smith .....is like , the backbone of your XI  !!

Quote:Is Thami a good replacement for Mark Boucher  ? 

I not even arguing dat no more.  let him keep.

but no captaincy.  AMLA in he Dutch wi'ah.  rignt now!  today! Tongue Tongue

Big Grin Big Grin Big Grin
Big Grin Big Grin
Big Grin

Truss me ...they would prefer the Frenchman ....du Plesis  :-[

I doh know man.  it may not go in dat direction at all.  deh takin deh time. 

if the whites still had the say it wud take no time. deh wud have wrapped it up already with  DeVilliers..or one of de Koch or Du Plessis.  but someone insisting that there is no hurry :Smile

why ::confused::

Lorgat and Moosajee .... :-[

[quote author=Mail link=topic=88204.msg553513#msg553513 date=1394348222]
Kylester,

It is reported Amla does not want to lead the team, although he may have been captained South Africa at ten age group levels.
However why do think AB is the best choice?
Personally being the keeper, a main batsman and captain seems too much for one man
I don't know, re: Amla's captaincy skills. IIRC he did captain in ODIs or sth and I wasn't impressed tbh. Memory is not good, sorry.

And I'd agree re: overburdening him. Why not just let de Kock keep and let him take on captaincy? I'm fairly confident at this point that de Kock would be natural replacement for Smith, as an opener tbh.

With respect Kylester you have not answered the question especially if memory fails you.

As it happens I am a big AB fan and would love to have a drink with him and I always saw him as the natural successor.

However Amla has had an outstanding reputation through youth Cricket.

If Amla is interested I would let him do it and let AB keep so it frees up a spot which is exactly what the selectors have tried to achieve so why change that model?

[quote author=Mail link=topic=88204.msg553872#msg553872 date=1394492887]
With respect Kylester you have not answered the question especially if memory fails you.

As it happens I am a big AB fan and would love to have a drink with him and I always saw him as the natural successor.

However Amla has had an outstanding reputation through youth Cricket.

If Amla is interested I would let him do it and let AB keep so it frees up a spot which is exactly what the selectors have tried to achieve so why change that model?
Which part of your questions haven't I answered? Smile
I have no idea about Amla's skills beyond whatever little I've seen in ODIs. I think it was Oz if memory serves me right. Now if he has some great skills I haven't seen, then fair enough.

And I don't see the compromise. de Kock is the top runner for that opening spot Smith has left vacant. Whether or not AB becomes captain, he'd be the natural successor, unless he fails badly.

[quote author=Kyle link=topic=88204.msg553502#msg553502 date=1394334862]
Are you serious?
Why would anyone want Amla to lead?
You seem to object, why? This was my main question..

Have you seen Amla lead bruh? Or is it coz he's a Muslim  8) Wink
Not sure what the Muslim thing has with it but shall ignore that. Have you seen him lead? Yes he did lead SA in three ODIs in Australia in 2011, the circumstances of which I do not know, and that series was lost 2-1. In 3 ODIs one should get a flavour of his ability but it is inadequate to make a firm judgement especially if there is some context to his role.

Previously, he Captained SA to the final of the U19 WC in 2002 losing to Australia and in 2004, at 21, he was made KwaZulu Natal's Captain so the chap has a track record and pedigree widely touted to be a future SA Captain.

I am not aware of AB's credentials but he has had a good record as ODI Captain

Seriously, AB is the best choice - he's warmed up to captaincy well, and he absorbs the pressure of captaincy alright. So he can continue.
Yes AB is warmed up and I am a big AB fan and for me he has not allowed the ODI Captaincy to affect his personal performance as he averages 62 as Captain compared to 46.

I have no issue with him becoming Skipper and I somewhat accepted that is the way it will go, however my contention is not about AB's suitability rather your somewhat mordant comments about Amla, which appeared unfounded.

I hope this clarifies my position.

"Previously, he Captained SA to the final of the U19 WC in 2002 losing to Australia

in 2004, at 21, he was made KwaZulu Natal's Captain so the chap has a track record and pedigree widely touted to be

a future SA Captain."

sometimes we forget ..  Wink