[quote author=Mail link=topic=78209.msg488040#msg488040 date=1363302622]
Windies have won against the worst team?
How have we progressed.
Prior to Sammy did we lose against Bangladesh, Zim and NZ? Prior to Sammy, NZ was a much stronger team though.
Because really these are the teams we have won against and you even managed to lose an ODI series against Bangladesh.
What really is the progress?
Mail Man:
[size=14pt]There is an old saying in Guyana, "one, one dutty build dam." In otherwords, little by little, a little become a lot---the WI have now won 5 tests in a row---little by little, a little becomes a lot----Is the team making progress ? Absolutely! A little progress every test match adds up to big results. The real test for the WI will be the 2 test series against Pakistan. By that series the WI would have won 6 tests in a row, and if they were to win a test against Pakistan---that's when you could really say the progress is real.[/size]
I agree with you. Beating the likes of Bangladesh and Zimbabwe isn't a sign of progress. You are also right in saying New Zealand were a lot stronger a few years ago.
Progress would be COMPETING with the strongest nations and I believe the West Indies have the potential to do that, whether the potential is realised is another thing.