Carmelo Anthony on his MVP voter: ‘I don’t know why he catches so much flak for

08 May 2013 20:45 #134434 by chairman
Gary Washburn of the Boston Globe gave his first-place MVP vote to Carmelo Anthony, making Washburn the only voter not to choose LeBron James, who won the award with 120 of 121 first-place votes.

Huge kudos to Washburn for explaining himself – he’s under no obligation to reveal that he was the Melo voter – but his defense of his vote didn’t exactly stop the criticism

08 May 2013 20:46 #134435 by chairman
This whole controversy has been unfair to Melo, who just had the best season of his career. Because of Washburn’s vote, there has been a large discussion about why LeBron is better than Melo. But so what if Melo isn’t as good as LeBron? That’s not exactly a huge flaw. But the onus on finding Melo’s flaws detracts from his successful season when we should be celebrating his scoring title career-low turnover percentage.
[/size]And now, just as the fire was dying down, Melo reignites it, even though I get he was just answering a question. In doing so, he says something I believe is wrong.
[/size]Nobody is really mad LeBron didn’t win unanimously. Everyone dumbfounded a quality basketball journalist – and Washburn is one – could be so wrong. I won’t rehash all the reasoning, [color=rgb(122, 67, 0)] which Zach Lowe of Grantland laid out very well [/color], but it’s ridiculous to believe Melo was more deserving of this award than LeBron.
[/size]Instead of directing more questions to Melo (though, one was perfectly fair), if we’re going to keep this controversy alive, let’s further question Washburn. I’ll start. If Melo had won MVP – if, to Washburn’s shock, a majority of voters had agreed with him – does Washburn really believe the right player would have been recognized in history as the 2013 NBA MVP?

08 May 2013 20:50 #134438 by chairman
“Wrong” is relative. The award is for most valuable to team’s success, not best player in the league. Without a set criteria, the idea that someone is “wrong” is merely arbitrary. If they were instructed to vote upon certain benchmarks and Anthony did not meet them, then you can call him wrong.
[/size]Otherwise, you just “disagree” with him.

08 May 2013 20:57 #134439 by mapoui
Screw them all.  I would have voted for Melo too'

Melo is a fantastic player who as great a year are LeBron.  its all high-pocrissy anyway.  up to last year deh were all over LeBron, Wade and Bosh for signing with the Heat.  and deh have always against Melo'

goog for LeBron.  he had a great year..is a very, very, very good player.  but I have no trouble with any vote cast according to how the voter worked out his choice

Time to create page: 0.186 seconds
JosephineSeattle opened as favorites, and they've earned that right, with fantastic play on both sides of the ball. We are leaning in their direction in what should be a high-scoring Super Bowl.(03.02.2026, 18:05)(18:05)0
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0