Lunch Today....Lucky Me......

21 May 2013 15:56 #136840 by mapoui
I may have found a filler that does not harm me too much to replace the regular carbies...QUINOA

it tastes good when well cooked and dressed up

today I did it with Tomatoes diced up, a bit of okra same way, green onions and green to half-ripe mangoes... sliced and diced into cubes.  mixed them all up at the end and a terrific rice-like finish.  delicious....

and since I have been using Quinoa I have had no carbies- like negative effect on my sugar levels.  man its slow good!

21 May 2013 16:01 #136843 by chairman
i had roti and dhall

21 May 2013 16:09 #136845 by ketchim
must try the KeenWah .....it is baji family but still a grain ...

same recipe as Mapster above !

richer in protein than Dhall , has amino and lysine ... ;)

21 May 2013 17:25 #136854 by mapoui
ketchim..you can season it up to with Gera like I did today..or any kind of seasoning you like..a flavour a day.

and I no meat and its not missed..  you change around your veggies too! :P :P :P

21 May 2013 17:27 #136855 by mapoui
I bought it Organ from the bulk store..also at the health food supermarket.  its a lil expensive but it gives a sense of confidence that you are eating good

22 May 2013 09:47 #136932 by The Captain
you really believe all that crap

• VillageBelle
22 May 2013 10:11 #136937 by VillageBelle
Maps......not to make you feel bad or anything, but this is the effeft of our 'demand' for Quinoa     

Jan 22, 2013            

The Dark Side of Quinoa By Paul  Wachter at 3:50PM
Aizar Raldes/Getty Quinoa, the "miracle grain of the Andes," is now too expensive for the poor Andes residents who have  traditionally relied on it as a staple of their diet. Low in carbohydrates and  high in protein, quinoa (pronounced KEEN-wa) has become increasingly popular  with the First World health-conscious set. The price has tripled since 2006,  which means "that poorer

www.esquire.com/blogs/food-for-men/first...ises-prices-15008439

Read more: [color=rgb(0, 51, 153)] Quinoa Prices Have Gone Up - Quinoa Too Expensive for Andes Workers - Esquire [/color]
Follow us: @Esquiremag on Twitter | Esquire on Facebook
Visit us at  [color=rgb(0, 51, 153)] Esquire.com [/color]

22 May 2013 10:18 #136940 by ketchim

Methink it is the amino and lysine in the KeenWah ( quinoa) that has you feeling well !

stick with it !

22 May 2013 10:19 #136941 by ketchim
Instead of okra , try NenWah with yuh KeenWah .... 8)

and possibly , Jhingee...

22 May 2013 11:58 #136982 by mapoui
I don't understand that report Village Belle

most andean countries are no progressive, tending to nationalism, excluding the USA and dealing increasingly tight with multinationals in the interests of their people.  I don't see how this is true.

and I don't see how the price can triple for local people unless many ridiculous factors are allowed to play..BY THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT!

the price can tripe for us and that's fine by the time it reaches us but not where its produced...unless they are farming it now with western standards and the middlemen are now local as well..buying up all production and creating shortages and manipulating prices

the local governments supposed to be...advancing production by organic means and local inputs that would not rise costs of production.  such costs would rise only if they use a lot of forrin inputs..or they have allowed and local multi-nations into the production who are mass producing with expensive inputs.

the same local people produced the grain and deh are the ones with whom the governments are supposed to work in organic ways to improve and expand production..not corporations.  that would keep the price down as well as allowing no corporate middleman and monopoly activity locally.

that type of activity supposed to happen only once the product leaves the andes and the country bound for us up here.  so it is supposed to get expensive for us but no locally unless deh allow it to take place. 

its not our fault.  we have nutten to do with it.  and if it is the case that the natives cant afford it what can we do to help?

it is simple nationalistic economics that would solve any such problem..prevent it in the first place..but for the corruption of the local governments

Time to create page: 0.250 seconds
JosephineSeattle opened as favorites, and they've earned that right, with fantastic play on both sides of the ball. We are leaning in their direction in what should be a high-scoring Super Bowl.(03.02.2026, 18:05)(18:05)0
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0