22 Jul 2013 10:40 #147194
Cleanup crews made only a dent in the havoc of a storm that uprooted hundreds of trees, blocked roads, ripped down utility lines and crushed cars on the weekend, stranding up to 20,000 homes and businesses without power for as long as three days.
While most residents stood by patiently for assistance — holding barbecues or sharing chainsaws — many were aggravated by long waits to get help or information.
22 Jul 2013 10:42 #147200
"Our concern is the lack of responsiveness in a safety situation," said Alison Evans of Belmont Avenue, where an enormous tree still rested on a neighbour's truck late Sunday, almost 48 hours after it fell and blocked the street. "There didn't seem to be any communication. No one knows what's going on."
As of 9 p.m. Sunday night, Horizon Utilities reported on their website that almost 80 customers in the Cootes and Osler Drives area in Dundas and the Bridgeman Lane and Glen Allen/Glen Cannon areas in Stoney Creek were still without power, and these areas would be assessed Monday.
VillageBelle
22 Jul 2013 10:44 - 22 Jul 2013 11:03 #147202
we had to go to an Iftar up hamilton mountain on friday.....just after the worse of the storm happened.
it was quite the adventerous drive for us navigating around downed trees and streets strewn with all kinds of debris.
we ended up with a large branch stuck under the car which we dragged for many kilometers before it broke and part of it fell off.....the rest came off on our driveway once we got home.
Last edit: 22 Jul 2013 11:03 by VillageBelle.
VillageBelle
22 Jul 2013 11:03 #147209
is only now meh get time bai!
i am a very busy lady you know.
VillageBelle
22 Jul 2013 11:18 #147213
he was so angry because he could not get rid of that branch

the roads were not busy at all....so he drove up slowly on the curb and drove for a km or so trying to lose it but could not.
the whole time he worried about what damage it might be doing to whatever is under the car
VillageBelle
22 Jul 2013 11:43 #147221
we were late for the Iftar (i overslep on my nap time

)
got there with exactly two minutes spare before we broke Fast
Storm cleanup: ‘No one knows what’s going on’ in Hamilton, ontario
Time to create page: 0.212 seconds