Nigeria's property boom: only for the brave

15 Sep 2013 12:20 #154692 by chairman
ABUJA (Reuters) - On one of the most exclusive streets in Nigeria's capital sits a crumbling mansion with an unwelcoming message painted at its entrance: "BEWARE! THIS HOUSE IS NOT FOR SALE".

The warning refers to a popular property scam. In the most elaborate version, robbers break into your house while you are away, change the locks, and then produce multiple copies of fake title deeds. Posing as estate agents, they show buyers around your house and sell as many copies of the deeds as possible. When you get back, your house belongs to six people.

This sort of deception epitomises the tricky nature of Nigeria's real estate business, but despite the risks, there are huge returns to be had in a market where around 16 million homes are needed just to meet current demand.

Navigating through opaque land laws, corruption, a lack of development expertise and financing, a dearth of mortgages and high building costs will take courage and influential local partners.

"There are sizeable challenges to overcome but in many ways Nigeria represents the perfect storm for real estate investment; huge population, rapid urbanisation and a growing middle-class," said Michael Chu'di Ejekam, Director of Nigerian Real Estate at Actis, a London-based private equity firm.

Actis has $5.2 billion under management, including two sub-Saharan Africa real estate equity funds totalling $434 million, which it says are attracting U.S. and European investors.

Nigeria's population of nearly 170 million is bigger than Russia's and its economy is growing at 6 percent, a combination which is producing a new wave of property buyers from bankers and airline staff to mobile phone and fast food shop owners.

"I see demand from the middle-class higher than ever before," said Deolu Dara, Associate Vice President at Nigeria-based Avante Property Asset Management, which manages several multi-million dollar residential projects in Lagos.

A successful real estate investment in Nigeria can earn an returns as high as 30-35 percent, while rental income yields in cities such as Lagos and Abuja can easily reach 10 percent, developers and estate agents say.

MIDDLE CLASS

Property in Lagos, a heaving metropolis of around 20 million people, can be among the most expensive in the world with two-bedroom flats costing more than $1 million in upmarket areas.

However, the top-end range is dominated by well established players and developers should target middle-income workers in major cities, such Lagos, Abuja and the oil-hub Port Harcourt. The most popular units fall in a price bracket of 20-35 million naira, developers and estate agents say.

Nigeria's middle class make up around 23 percent of the population and earn around 80,000- 100,000 naira per month, according to report by investment bank Renaissance Capital.

In smaller cities and rural areas, a lack of information about land and regulation is off-putting, while a violent Islamist insurgency has made the north of Nigeria unattractive, despite huge unmet demand in cities such as Kano and Kaduna.

The majority of Nigerians live in poverty in shanty towns or in basic concrete block and iron-roofed houses they have built themselves, but building mass housing for the poor is not a popular investment.

"If you know the market, the people, focus on middle class and cherry pick your deals, you can clean out," added Dara, who said Africa's biggest oil and gas industry is also driving demand. One foreign oil major bought 300 flats recently.

Nigeria's construction and real estate sectors are growing at more than 10 and 12 percent respectively, a boon for foreign and Nigerian construction firms, including UPDC, Cappa D'Alberto and Julius Berger.

15 Sep 2013 18:58 #154727 by mapoui
another wall street bubble..

allyuh know who runs nigeria ::confused:: ::confused::

sooprise sooprise!  Nigerai is run from Tel Aviv ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

• ramesh
15 Sep 2013 19:10 #154732 by ramesh
There will never be a positive story from Africa in n the corporate owned mainstream media

15 Sep 2013 23:23 #154768 by mapoui
I don't read the MSM!  about 20 years now I stopped reading that

16 Sep 2013 09:17 #154796 by The Captain

you have the proof or are you a Tel Aviv mole

16 Sep 2013 10:18 #154803 by mapoui
common knowledge Skipper...

much the same way with some other African supposedly national entities as well.

I will see what I can do to dredge up some proof fuh you.

16 Sep 2013 10:28 #154804 by mapoui
I cant produce anything right now captain.  I have links but I cant go through my bookmarks right now...too large and disorganised.

and as is their way googles is just throwing up positive links that are lies and useless here

16 Sep 2013 10:47 #154805 by The Captain
he saved the financial world

16 Sep 2013 11:10 - 16 Sep 2013 13:34 #154808 by mapoui
who saved the world?

anyway..how come you need proof!  the world is full or routine proof of Jewish domination ..straight from Tel Aviv.

Israeli prime ministers always boast that "we control america...and the americans know it."

how did they do that over the years ::confused

by first bribing early politicians to privatise their national currencies into jewish hands, then having them borrow all the money they spend for the nation from  the privatise money at interest.  the Jews who control the money at no cost to them, then collect interest on all the that is spent.

sweet game!  the best con ever conceived and effected...something for nothing

then they have  used the profits over the generations to buy up the whole political process of nations and control all that they do internally and externally.  most of the countries in the world have now been forced under that system.

Nigeria like  America is no different..both run from Tel Aviv because their governments are puppets, owned by international Zionism

what proof you need then ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::
Last edit: 16 Sep 2013 13:34 by mapoui.

16 Sep 2013 11:24 #154812 by ketchim
Caveat Emptor .

Knowing the Con Artistes trade there , be advised to check every wall :

OR even IF the house exist .... ::LOL::

Time to create page: 0.205 seconds
JosephineSeattle opened as favorites, and they've earned that right, with fantastic play on both sides of the ball. We are leaning in their direction in what should be a high-scoring Super Bowl.(03.02.2026, 18:05)(18:05)0
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0