Black men must stop domestic violence- David Hinds

15 Sep 2013 17:39 #154717 by chairman
A veteran political activist has appealed to African Guyanese men to stop domestic violence and instead participate in community efforts to combat illiteracy and create booming village economies instead of depending on East Indian communities.

15 Sep 2013 18:51 #154723 by mapoui
skunt now wake up ::confused::

what took him so long ::confused::

dats right!  get up, get smart of get fried.  who cares >:(

15 Sep 2013 18:54 #154724 by chairman
Political Science Professor, David Hinds told a public meeting in Melanie Damishana, a predominantly African Guyanese village, that there was no reason to kill women because of unfaithfulness.

He said women make up the backbone of villages and endure the challenges while the men go to the interior or Caribbean islands to work.

15 Sep 2013 18:54 #154725 by chairman
“This business of beating our women and killing them has to stop. If you are killing your women, you are killing your community. They are the ones who create and recreate our community,” said Hinds

15 Sep 2013 18:57 #154726 by chairman
He cautioned that perpetrating violence against women would leave a legacy of violence among Blacks who have themselves been victims.

While acknowledging that women are not faultless, Hinds said they were the ones carrying the burden of the African Guyanese community that were overall “in a bad shape.”

“We have to defend our women because when things are down and out, it’s the women who see us through and so my brothers I’m appealing to you tonight please do what you can do in your individual capacity to stop the violence against our women,” said Hinds.

Latest figures released by the Guyana Police Force (GPF) show that of the 85 homicides, 13 were domestic related.

In order to reshape the African Guyanese community, the political activist said plans were in train to establish homework centres, provide teacher training and raise funds for small business ventures.

Against the background of mostly East Indian Guyanese performing better at CXC examinations, he urged African Guyanese to establish their own businesses and spend in their own communities rather than in others.

“If you are in Melanie and you go and spend your money at the market in Enmore when the man in Enmore is going to give a donation for scholarship, he is giving it to children in Enmore so you in Melanie helping to educate children in Enmore and not educating yourself,” said Hinds as an example to illustrate his point.

Education was singled out as the driving force behind the re-energizing and re-development of Black communities by combating poverty, low self-esteem, adult illiteracy and being able to vote for the political party of their choice. “If we pull ourselves out through education we will be starting a minor revolution in our
community,” he said.

He lamented the almost complete reversal of the successes of post-slavery villages that were bought by freed men and women who then established churches, farms and schools and produced high quality teachers and other professionals.

Concerns were raised by the speaker that African Guyanese were not competing with other ethnic groups. “As I look around Guyana and I look at what is happening, it is very clear that African Guyanese are not competing with the other ethnic groups of this country,” he said.

African Guyanese were likened by the political activist unto plantations because they are plagued by dependency, lack of self-respect, absence of self-love, ashamed of their identities, poor education, almost non-existent economic activity and disempowerment.
“We are drifting back into the plantation and we must recognise that and begin to lift ourselves up,” he said.

Hinds, fellow political activist Aubrey Norton and other like-minded persons say they are on a mission to revive economic activity in the villages and avoid disrespect (eyepass) from being meted out to African Guyanese. “When you trade in your village, you keep your money in your village and when you keep your money in your village, you are developing your own village,” he said.

Another option, Hinds said, could be open to African Guyanese would be to offer small interest-free loans to single mothers to start small businesses.

In a speech that he was really “true talk,” Hinds urged attendees to ignore the Peoples Progressive Party Civic-led administration’s entertainment policy through which mega artistes are brought to Guyana “and get our young people crazy to go to those shows.”

15 Sep 2013 19:08 #154730 by mapoui
a pox on all of them!

if you know something useful and wish to give it to your own community they drive you away, call you all manner of things.  all they know is to kill the messenger and the message.

deh doh have to pay no mind to the messenger just the message. if it useful use it.  if not toss it.  but deh not looking fuh anything useful so out goes the message and the messenger.

let the white man go n and tell them.  they will accept him with open arms.  but yuh know the white man not bringing any message black people can use.

the white man will send in the evangelist and dem and them nig nogs will flock to hear message of faith and prayer and prayer and prayer fervently to god.  but tell then deh cyan do it demselves, even show dem and dat wont work.  I know.  I came out of dat myself.  I know!  I learned and changed.  but it is a hell of a messed up situation the minds of black people in the west indies.

live by sight and deh doh care man!  live by faith and they all in!  well time running out!  deh go have to make a decision soon as to how to proceed..continue as is, waiting for someone to solve it for them..or solve it themselves.  the ansah is to solve it themselves but I doubt very much that they will.  I hope they do.  I am black too! but things look brong indeed!

15 Sep 2013 19:11 #154733 by mapoui
a pox on all of them because they not stupid or blind. they all can read and write and know enough to make informed decisions.

and if they don't it does not matter any.  its like ignorance of the law is no excuse. 

things have to move and if you don't know the steamroller coming you go get mash regardless.  so yuh have to know..must know, find out somehow and get yuhself organised

• ramesh
15 Sep 2013 19:24 #154737 by ramesh
I agree with Mr Hinds  . Blacks will have to support and each other and have development  indigenously .
They must rely on themselves as there is no one else there to assist them

15 Sep 2013 19:41 #154741 by chairman
Collective Work and Responsibility: To build and maintain our community together and make our brother’s and sister’s problems our problems and to solve them together.

15 Sep 2013 23:18 - 17 Sep 2013 11:04 #154767 by mapoui
ok!  so what is Hinds..some kind of highly qualified older middle class west indian, who now, today, comes out with this advice for the people...rather than long time now 

where was he all the time?  did he work for Burnham and had some power that could have been used not to advise but to effect his ideas that he tosses at us now ::confused::

I hate west indian middle class society.  it is shiite from start to finish..hypocrite, class ridden, racist, divided ethnically and on class and wealth.  west indian middle class society is so divided and  phucked-up that if a man has a job he is better than those without jobs.  having a job too is a means of social division.  west indian society must be divided on a million factors that keep people stupid and separated....

Black people are divided by having a job..or not having one..on gender, on age, actual class, who went to high school and who did not..where you work and who you work for..working for the government and whether you in the service or casual daily paid worker.  we are divided on where we live..location..between directions like south and north as in Trinidad.  we are divided by skin colour..shades really..who is lighter than whom...etc etc etc.

then black and white are divided but black love white...but white folk don't love blacks.  blacks and indians are divided and hate each other but cohabit and breed too.  and Indians are very racist..far more than black people. 

but in my experience the most damaging division of all is that between the black middle/elites and the vast black ordinary population.  and this is not only west indian phenomena but worldwide.  everywhere black people live there is that rigid division between the classes and the total betrayal of the collective and national interests by the black elites/middle classes.  these sell out black people unconscionably, totally, comprehensively, allowing the predatory rest of the world to have their way with black people..the black masses.

so here we have Hinds with a message he must have had for years but only now gives it expression in the face of the degradation of black people that's has been going on for a long time and has now reached a truly alarming level or low.  how come only now Hinds speaks, is what I ask?

all west indian politicians at the point of independence agreed to give the international bankers west indian currencies and enslave the region again, which made independence a sham.  the west indies are still enslaved...independence a total fake.  the region has been bled like a stuck pig from 1962 to this day.  there is only debt..has only been debt all along, piling up on the backs of the people.  there has been no money at all for the development of the region because of this, which is why it is the way it isin he region...degrading slowly into a hell on earth.

only Barbados, looked after by england has been decently run since 1966 and their 'independence'  Trinidad has money but of all west indian territories  Trinidad is the most divided of all..and probably the place where black people are losing out worse than in any other territory.  Trinidad has so much money yet they are prohibited from building social services and programs for the people by the banksters.  but it is not like the political parties of Titty are panting to help the people, chaffing at the bit to make health and education free which is exactly what they should be.  they are not.  the Trinidad and Tobago political elites don't give an eff about the ordinary people of that country...all of them..Indos and Afros both

ordinary black west indians were always on their own.. we were always on our own but filled up with bullshiite religion that taught us to pray for what we should have been doing for ourselves.  for what we want and need, they taught us to wait on the government and the political representatives we had elected and sent away to the legislature..rather than getting up and doing it ourselves

that is the way west indian societies function and they want no change..except of course if ordinary black people die-off.

ordinary black people in Titty as in Jamaica have long ceased to care.  they see the true nature of the west indies and don't give a phuck about it.  they kill and rob with a savagery that is equal to the crimes done to them in the society.  that has been their reaction!  so far.  as Fannon might have said they are seeking focus..or the real target for the violence in their souls... the system!  it is violence as yet unfocused on its real target. 

that surely is the case..that an extremely violent revolution is lurking in the west indies and when and if it blows lots are going to die..much blood will be shed.

I really don't know Hinds and where he is coming. but I don care about talk. phuck talk!  if he knows what must be done and he has resources..any at all... let him go and live in a community, a village and working with the people, build it up successfully, as demonstration of what is to be done so that others can follow.

pull a Mao Tse Tung for the people whom he purports to be truly concerned about.  Mao developed in the regions his communist party controlled examples of what he wanted all of China to be. and that demonstration convinced the people of what he was talking about and his sincerity.  they fought for that idea of society with a commitment and tenacity that led to victory.

but communist ideology is not part of the west indian equation and the region is not in a war with itself like China was...at least not yet.  what we need is not even money.  the people have themselves, their labour, skills and brains..the land on which they live, the water etc.  how to work that into wealth and a high standard of life is what they need to know... and the independence of mind and social freedom in which to do it.  because once they start and get successful there is going to be opposition and they must be ready to fight for their life.

but people like Hinds have never wanted that kind of development for black people in the west indies though they are black themselves.  the rise of ordinary black people threaten their class position as they see it.  so they have sat astride the development of black people, offering up themselves to the white man, Ole Marse himself, as local agents for his continuing exploitation of the region.

that's our west indies as I know it.  the people in a Village might listen to and follow Hinds, a Black man because he is a man sanctioned by the status quo and he may be able to deliver.  but Hinds must go and do and forget the giving of advice and lecturing black people.  DO HINDS! Go and work with the people to change their reality into a postive one! Phuck the talk
Last edit: 17 Sep 2013 11:04 by mapoui.

Time to create page: 0.238 seconds
JosephineSeattle opened as favorites, and they've earned that right, with fantastic play on both sides of the ball. We are leaning in their direction in what should be a high-scoring Super Bowl.(03.02.2026, 18:05)(18:05)0
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0