18 Oct 2013 12:45 #159139
Millions of people swear by vitamin supplements.
But many are wasting their time and some could even be harming themselves
18 Oct 2013 12:46 #159140
I want to get into this in a bit more detail because the vitamin companies :
certainly don't agree with me.
So why do we believe they're useful and why do we take them ?
18 Oct 2013 12:47 #159141
they are supposed to be used a supplement...hence the name "supplement" to many brands.
18 Oct 2013 12:52 #159142
The Myth of A ~ K : :-[
- Vitamin A needed for good vision, healthy skin and growth; found in green and yellow vegetables and dairy products. Deficiency can cause night blindness, xerophthalmia (lack of tears) and ultimately blindness as a result of corneal damage
- Vitamin B needed for healthy skin, and helping body release energy; found in bread, milk and eggs
- Vitamin B12 needed for red blood cells; found in meat, milk and fish
- Vitamin C - needed for healthy skin, cell protection and iron absorption; found in fruit and vegetables
- Vitamin D - needed for strong teeth and bones; found in margarine and oily fish
- Vitamin E - needed for cell protection; found in nuts, seeds and cereals
- Vitamin K - needed for blood clotting; found in green vegetables and cereals
18 Oct 2013 12:54 #159144
This piece is about what we have learned about vitamin supplements in the last few years -
if you are healthy, and you live in a country like Canada, taking multi-vitamins
and high-dose antioxidants
may shorten your life.
18 Oct 2013 12:58 #159145
"I spend loads of money on them and the claims on the packet are really persuasive.
Everything, from my full head of hair to my sex life, depends on them !"
18 Oct 2013 13:06 #159147
The problem is that we all feel very warm and fuzzy about vitamins because :
The tales of deficiency are so horrific
We read breakfast cereal packs
A double-Nobel laureate called Linus Pauling liked vitamin C in vast, vast doses.
18 Oct 2013 13:07 #159148
All this is packaged by the people now selling us vitamins over the counter:
into that most beguiling of all logical falsehoods -
if a little is good, then more must be better.
:-[
18 Oct 2013 13:19 #159150
I take cod liver in the wintah to compensate fuh lack of sunlight.
wen I exercise a lot like this summer I take protein supplements to put back what I put out....
but thats it fuh me. I ent taking no coctails of vitamins..and most especially because of who make dem.
the protein I use is Sanatogen. and 7 Seas Cod Liver oil. both are brands we have known in the west indies for genertions
VitaminsGeddon !
Time to create page: 0.204 seconds