Women Lung muscles

09 Nov 2013 13:26 #162201 by ketchim
Women's lung muscles have to work harder than men's :

making breathlessness more common after exercise,

say scientists in Canada.

09 Nov 2013 13:28 #162202 by ketchim
Their study in the journal Experimental Physiology examined :

the activity of the diaphragm - the muscle that drives lung function.  ;)

It had to work harder in women to compensate for smaller lungs....

09 Nov 2013 13:29 #162203 by ketchim
The research was conducted at McGill University.....Montreal !

09 Nov 2013 13:32 #162204 by ketchim
"In both health and diseases, women are more likely to show signs of breathlessness

after physical activity than men,"

said lead researcher Dr Dennis Jensen.

09 Nov 2013 13:33 #162205 by ketchim
"Women have biologically smaller lungs and they have to activate respiratory muscles more to move a given amount of air."

He said it was an "important insight into why women with emphysema and heart failure have worse breathing symptoms than men".

09 Nov 2013 13:35 #162206 by ketchim
The study compared 25 men and 25 women , exercising on a bicycle.

09 Nov 2013 14:05 #162219 by ketchim
Even with a man and a woman of equal size , Kwami and socafighter : 

socafighter lungs are smaller and her airways narrower.

BUT she mouth bigger with nuff Picong , mamaguy and bacchanal !

09 Nov 2013 14:19 #162221 by Kwami
Now, now ketch there you go including me . Have you no respect for my wit all this time?
I could easily have said that you don't need no expert from Mc Gill to tell you about women physiology  when you are an expert yourself .
After  all  three women left you but like I said , I wont say it 8)

09 Nov 2013 14:20 #162222 by ketchim
Your wit is more like without .....but I wont say it  :P

09 Nov 2013 15:53 #162233 by Kwami
I thought that you would more  of an expert on thigh muscles rather than lung muscles  being the wuk bench king and all 8)

Time to create page: 0.192 seconds
JosephineSeattle opened as favorites, and they've earned that right, with fantastic play on both sides of the ball. We are leaning in their direction in what should be a high-scoring Super Bowl.(03.02.2026, 18:05)(18:05)0
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0