The Good ole Days Trini's buss bamboo

• Chin
02 Dec 2013 11:21 #166045 by Chin
Buss Bamboo

Some stories I remember as a young fella in Trinidad.

Boom Boom… “Nah, nah, nah that bamboo sounded louder than mine… heat it up more come on blow and make that bamboo sing”.

Boom… Arghhh. What happened, yuh ok? This was a classic case of over exuberance because the bamboo back fired and the result was roast manicou. Now me eye lids stuck together , ah gat no more eyebrow ,
seared away but ah still dey bussing bamboo.

Boom ..oh shit ..bamboo explodes , lil pieces of bamboo stick all over me body ..oh gord me mudda
go kill me she told me not to do this ...

Bamboo 'boom boom' season was the best back in the day. We used to head down to the forest to get our bamboos from one of the finest bamboo patch that I knew of in the bush. That area is now a housing settlement and the bamboo is gone. The older guys would tell us (a learning process) which were the best bamboos to use to get that loud booming sound.

Later on I learned how to hollow out the joints and cut the hole to the right size to pull the trigger on the shot. Of course you needed some pitch oil and a flam-beau to work with during the night (it was best done at nights to emphasize the boom echo). It was a drum (well boom conversation) back and forth we went until we were too tired or our ears were ringing from the booms.

Today that is considered a noise nuisance and it controlled by laws and more than likely ‘sophisticated neighbors’ who won’t tolerate it anymore.

Dem was the good ole days fer Xmas.

Now if my kids did this in Canada , the swat team would be sent ..lol

02 Dec 2013 11:24 #166051 by chairman

Time to create page: 0.176 seconds
JosephineSeattle opened as favorites, and they've earned that right, with fantastic play on both sides of the ball. We are leaning in their direction in what should be a high-scoring Super Bowl.(03.02.2026, 18:05)(18:05)0
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0