Neil Young blasts Harper government for development of Alberta oilsands

12 Jan 2014 18:51 #172851 by chairman
Neil Young is accusing the Canadian government of “trading integrity for money” when it comes to Alberta’s oilsands.

Speaking at a news conference Sunday, the rock legend suggested the Canadian government is “killing” First Nations people by pushing forward with rapid development of the oilsands.

“The blood of these people will be on modern Canada’s hands,” he said.

12 Jan 2014 18:56 #172852 by chairman
“I want my grandchildren to grow up and look up and see a blue sky,” Young said, noting he instead only sees a government “out of control.”
“Money is number one, integrity isn’t even on the map,” he said.

12 Jan 2014 20:48 #172876 by mapoui
yes sir!  Identifying with the peoples interest.  this is a serious issue this... we shud all pay attention :)

13 Jan 2014 16:08 #173034 by chairman
maps you ever worked in the oil sands?

13 Jan 2014 16:09 #173036 by mapoui
no! have you ::confused::

13 Jan 2014 16:10 #173038 by chairman
i heard it pays good

13 Jan 2014 16:32 #173040 by mapoui
what use is a pocket full of money when there is no clean food to buy and no water to drink?

I suppose you can wring the dollars bills for any residual moisture deh may retain

13 Jan 2014 16:49 - 13 Jan 2014 23:25 #173041 by mapoui
where is it now...virginnia..carolina...where...300 thousand people have no water to drink?

if as I suspect that water is permanently contaminated imagine the existential horror that is going to be ::confused::

and where does that river flow?

it is going to be the same all along that river to wherever it ends up....

we now have several massive environmental disasters converging on humanity:  there is old Chernobyl and new Fukushima.  it appears that the entire Pacific ocean is contaminated.  irradiated air and water is already all over north america.

there is the Gulf of Mexico that is totally poisoned.  the people along that entire coast are having all kinds of nightmare health issues.

there is the depleted uranium issues all over the middle east and north Africa, western Asia and central europe from the free use of US weaponry in those regions.

we now have this current water disaster in the american south..and hair trigger disaster potential all along the way from fracting and the tar sands project.  it is bound to catch up with us..even if only one accident takes place.  then you will know how useless a pocket full of money can be.

ask the people of Japan now..with all their money how useful it is, in what they face..much of their land useless, the people evacuated...and touch and go with their nation.  it may not have dawned on you yet but the world could lose the Japanese nation any time now..and a whole lot of us at the same time.

if the Japanese nation goes so too does the far east.  we looking at unmitigated disaster unfolding for the world due to huge, asinine, pointless capitalist projects..conceived and built to maximise debt and interest charges..

the Tar sands is one of them..and you talking about high pay from suicidal wuk  ::confused::

Interesting!  way to go chairman.  you dah man! ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::
Last edit: 13 Jan 2014 23:25 by mapoui.

13 Jan 2014 17:13 #173048 by ketchim
Good points , Mapster !  8)

13 Jan 2014 23:17 #173113 by mapoui
humanity in trouble...

it is either you are doing that which keeps you alive or you are doing what will kill you.  that is life...no in- between.

that is how nature corrects itself and goes on..a sort of built in recycling, reprocessing process that can work or it cant, may work for some time and then fail always for existential reasons...change in conditions by the constant movement and interaction of all parts of existence, giving rise always to new potential, stresses and strains on existing forms and structures, demanding adjustment or death.

looking at humanity currently it is clear everyone on earth is suicidal and do not know it.  people are not out to kill themselves but are doing so anyway ignorantly by massive support for a status quo the modus of which is human suicide.

the system by which we live has grown huge, outstripping planetary conditions to contain it.  it is exploitative and has generated technologies it implements in deleterious ways for the purpose of exploitation of the people and planet for money and social control.  and it cannot stop or it will collapse.  so those who own and control such a process insist on its continuation despite the fact that it is killing the planet and the people.

and all the people go along allowing the process to continue even as the disasters mount, safe planetary living space declines and the poisons consume us.

suicidal living I call that.  we are not living for live but for death..all of us.  and we know better but cant stop. 

there will be no fi'ah next time, and no god is coming back.  humans are not hamstrung by the very intellectual process we put in place to facilitate exploitation of the planet.  we have fooled ourselves into wrong and stupid beliefs and cant help ourselves out of the very process we implemented ourselves, imposed on ourselves.  to do so we have to fight ourselves.  we have to fight ourselves to save ourselves..those who know and care against those who know and do not care but have gathered up all the money and weapons under their control.

do we have the time to defeat the enemy who is us, clean up the mess and start again living correctly?

I don't see that we do. we have crossed a point of no return.  only herculean collective effort can save us now.  we must end the entrenched system immediately. and immediately start reorganising life according to the principles of existence we have discovered in nature..natural law..no religious phuckery of any kind will do

Time to create page: 0.189 seconds
JosephineSeattle opened as favorites, and they've earned that right, with fantastic play on both sides of the ball. We are leaning in their direction in what should be a high-scoring Super Bowl.(03.02.2026, 18:05)(18:05)0
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0