German town Jamaica documentary in Toronto

• dave6
22 Jan 2014 18:55 #174510 by dave6
There will be a screening for the documentary German town the lost story of Seaford town Jamaica in Toronto Ontario Canada January 25th 2014 at 7pm. there will be a opening presentation and a Q&A with the director of the film.

venue - Big picture cinema - www.bigpicturecinema.com

location- 1035 Gerrard St East
Toronto, Ontario

date- January 25 2014 7pm

more info - www.germantownjamaica.com

link to trailer - 

23 Jan 2014 17:42 #174675 by ketchim
20 bucks admission !

Includes Jerk with peas and rice , some sensemilia and a Tiger malt !

23 Jan 2014 17:47 #174676 by ketchim
Kwami and Mapoui ,

we can go visit Little India up de road after .... 8)

24 Jan 2014 00:13 #174693 by mapoui
man finally get he flim to show in canada eh.

deh doh have no fresh dhalpouri on Gerrad deh...pure Indian something.  not even ah fresh west indian polori >:(

too cold to go all deh and no real phood.  Dave6 sleep out ::LOL::

:-[ :-[
:-[

• dave6
24 Jan 2014 01:28 - 24 Jan 2014 02:11 #174694 by dave6
the real Jerk "a place Mapoui would be at home" Jamaican restaurant is right down the street from the venue. but trust me you wont be missed.

24 Jan 2014 10:01 - 24 Jan 2014 11:02 #174724 by mapoui
look here Dave6..its good that you doing work.  once its done and you throw it out in the public its over you know...no longer yours, public property now.

you have to give it up, stop acting like you have to protect it with your life, defensive and holding permanent grudges against those who review it or any part there-off critically..regardless.

the sensible response is to learn and go do even better.  instead you are in an emotional funk on the forum which is ridiculous, unbecoming and proves those who blasted you are not wrong. 

you are an angry emotional midget, trolling for support, for viewer, on the forum.  what happen your production cant stand on is own, attract massive support in its own worth ::confused::

there is nutten unique about your doc in format or subject.  I have seen that format a million times.

there are million groups of formerly oppressed people in the world...under one paradigm of exploitation, from the break-up of ancient communal social organisation to now... a point at which that paradigm appears to be running out of steam, threatening to take life on planet earth with it.

look at what that paradigm has produced and continues to:
beforeitsnews.com/health/2014/01/w-va-ch...m-using-2520150.html

like I said previously...that water is likely permanently poisoned.  300K american have no water to drink although the government sad the water is safe.  try and answer this question: what else could the government do!  how do you handle a situation in which there is no water for 300K people to use...and all along the way of that river its the same thing.  we have not heard the last of this

look man..the Pacific Ocean is gone, finished as a source of food and safety to traverse.  so too the Gulf of Mexico.  see the horrific health problems of the people along the american Gulf Coast.  Central Europe, Yemen, Pakistan, Libya, Iraq, Somalia, Afghanistan..poisoned irrevocably by Depleted Uranium..as is  everywhere America has used its weapons.

In Iraq women are refusing to get pregnant if they can help it because of the biological horrors they are giving birth to.  Bill and Melinda Gates.. Morty and Morticia.. are using their billions to spreads vaccinations around the world that are killing and deforming poor people. 

there is GMO food in the world that is doing the same thing..busting the guts of people by producing pesticide factories in their bellies. 

real food is getting short in north american its price sky-rocketing. there is a drought that has been going on in the western USA for some time now that is looming as a global disaster

and everywhere you turn the worst imaginable governments and minority social classes invest the power, the most evil, wicked and crazy men and women in charge, carrying out a global  economic program that takes no prisoners, razing planet earth.....

what is the future to be..indeed what is the now far less the future ::confused::

all that crap, everywhere unavoidable, in your face social nastiness... everywhere.

in the western word the middle classes are dying economically, jobs are gone so is democracy...police brutality and state intrusion everywhere.  white people are now just as likely to be brutalised and killed by the cops as anybody else.  and white people, the group that earned the most over the past 150 years are losing it all.  Black people have little or nothing to lose..never had

survival is now, a vastly more urgent factor in routine life, getting more urgent, touch and  go......

all of this and you into your limited documentary with its vast minority focus, of no freaking concern to people at all, offers no way out,no progressive idea save a group of Jamaican minority people, who may not number 5000 ::confused::.... whose experience and current reality offers us no way to climb out of our growingly desperate box

if I made your documentary would you go see it ::confused::

would anyone here ::confused::

to traipse to Toronto on a bitterly cold friday night in these terrible times, to look at your simplistic, minority doc would be a totally, unjustified use of time...pointless..just like arguing with you on this board is.  there is nutten to it..nutten to learn from you save what..the name of an instrument one had never heard of before ::confused::

the best I can think of for this work of yours is that it is prelim..a start and base on which you would launch out and make more docs, a learning experience that takes you into the meat of life, where you try to produce truly meaningful work that addresses the concerns of the people you focus on in this doc, by addressing the needs of all..by addressing much broader human concerns from which all can take lesson and example and move forward.

instead of being so focused you are here on this forum in nasty emotional response to posters who justifiably criticise your work.  what the hell you wanted...a love fest ::confused:: 

as a result of your nastiness, what realistic hope can we entertain for you..that you would launch into human issues of real broad concern, and produce unique, worthwhile cinematic work, by a west indian, inflected from a west indian point of view, advancing cinematic creation in the west indies, developing the regional art form ::confused::

you are pain in the arse Dave6..a pain I make go away now by ignoring you completely until I see some kind of advance and intelligent movement from you

>:( >:( >:( >:( >:(
>:( >:( >:( >:(
>:( >:( >:(
>:( >:(
>:(
Last edit: 24 Jan 2014 11:02 by mapoui.

24 Jan 2014 10:20 #174726 by mapoui
anyway..didn't the real jerk close down?

did the new owners give them a 'new lease' on life ::confused::

24 Jan 2014 10:34 - 24 Jan 2014 10:42 #174730 by ketchim
dave6 ,

I believe that the Real Jerk at Jones avenue and Queen was relocated due to the Lease !

BUT opposite is Jilly's ,a strip joint that has the sweetest babes  ;)

news.nationalpost.com/2011/12/26/as-toro...nges-jillys-remains/

Last edit: 24 Jan 2014 10:42 by ketchim.

24 Jan 2014 11:06 #174740 by mapoui
hahahaha.  You know Jillys eh ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

that's where I met Dawn :D :D :D

24 Jan 2014 11:13 #174741 by ketchim
Mapster ,

Party with the babes at Jilly's ....drink , get hungry :

cross the street to Real Jerk ....buy her a peas and rice ;

then de action start .....I may know Dawn as welll  ;D ;D

Time to create page: 0.195 seconds
JosephineSeattle opened as favorites, and they've earned that right, with fantastic play on both sides of the ball. We are leaning in their direction in what should be a high-scoring Super Bowl.(03.02.2026, 18:05)(18:05)0
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0