3 Asian families and the American dream....true stories

• Chin
26 Jan 2014 13:15 #175025 by Chin

The Pew Research Center recently released a comprehensive study profiling Asian-Americans in the United States and found them to be more highly educated and well-paid than any other immigrant group in the country.
Asians are also now coming to the United States in greater numbers than Hispanics and make up about 6% of the population.

The study is overwhelmingly positive - most Asian-Americans have at least a college degree and consider themselves hard-working - but it also showed immense diversity among the group.

There are more than 17 million Asian-Americans, and each has a unique story. Here, three immigrant families in the Atlanta area share a slice of their lives.

The Tripathi family celebrates Kaushal and Neelam's 25th wedding anniversary with a Hawaiian themed party at their home in Fayetteville, Georgia.

High expectations

Kaushal Tripathi settles into a plush leather couch, scanning the two-story lofted ceiling and a grand, free-standing stairway in his living room. Tulips adorn a pair of large vases.
People say they don't care about money, he says, sipping hot chai muted with milk.
"But when they get into real life, money matters."
That's why he and his wife, Neelam, have pushed their two children to excel in school.

Tripathi says he used to sit down with his children after school to discuss what they learned and how they were going to succeed.Sometimes, Sarung, now 21 years old, felt stifled that he couldn't talk about anything else with his parents - save school.
"At home I felt like I couldn't talk about dating, like I couldn't talk about anything that could possibly be hindering me from doing well in school," he says.
"The only things I would talk about with my parents were school and sort of excelling."

But the Tripathis don't think they've pushed their children nearly as hard as some Indian parents. The Pew study found that many Indian-Americans (43%) say parents from their country of origin put too much pressure on their children to do well in school. A plurality (49%) say the amount of pressure is just right.
But the perceived "right" amount of pressure varies across ethnicities. A majority (62%) of Asian-American parents say that American parents do not put enough pressure on their children.

Neelam Tripathi says Indian parents tend to fall at the extreme end of the spectrum. She knows other parents who insist their children become doctors or lawyers.
"If you can't be a doctor then you'd better be a lawyer," she says. "And if you're not a lawyer, well, after that everything is just, kind of, whatever."

Kaushal Tripathi has one goal: his kids must be successful. And that means affluent.
He says a career should be about earning money to pay for hobbies and fun. A history buff can read for leisure, an artist can sketch in his or her free time. These passions are suited for hobbies, he says - not careers.
His wife agrees.

"Kaushal would always tell Sarung, 'There are a lot of things that you might want to do, so choose a career that will bring you enough money so you can do whatever you want later in your life,'" Neelam Tripathi says.
Sarung, a student at Georgia Tech, followed the course to become a doctor because he thought it's what his parents wanted, finishing all the required pre-med classes before admitting to his mother that just walking into a hospital made him nauseous.
She tells the story with a hint of disappointment, but says it's OK because she knows he tried.

The Tripathis' daughter, Anjali, 16, says she feels less pressure than her brother. She wants to be a journalist.
Though she thinks her parents support her, she often gets looks of disapproval from other Indians.
"In the end, as long as I'm happy and I'm able to support myself, I think [my parents] are fine with whatever I choose to do," she says.
Her mother smiles as her daughter talks about her dreams and then picks her words carefully.
"The thing with the Indian parents - it seems like we're just expecting from our kids, but we're listening to our kids, too," she says.

• ramesh
26 Jan 2014 14:55 #175050 by ramesh
They come here and reap the benefits of the blood sweat and tears of Blacks who built america through slavery.
You conveniently forgot that while colleges are built for all others . prison for profits are built for blacks .

• ramesh
26 Jan 2014 15:21 #175052 by ramesh
  You are right I dont read your posts and that goes for many on this board ... just a cursory glance

• ramesh
26 Jan 2014 15:50 #175054 by ramesh
  There you go again with your arrogant attitude ,
You believe that you are the smartest in the room . You've been trying since I came to the tree to make me look foolish but somehow I don't think that is working

• ramesh
26 Jan 2014 16:08 #175055 by ramesh
Idle threat , you are incapable on making me look foolish . You on the other hand needs no help ,
You are a fool

• ramesh
26 Jan 2014 18:36 #175067 by ramesh
Chin you must do some research about  racism in America and why Blacks are in the condition they are in .
I will recommend that  you start with the great Trinidadian historian Tony  Martin 

27 Jan 2014 10:27 #175144 by ketchim

This poster has established a record for in house quarrels and fighting !

I must say that Trinis are in a world of their own :

Picong, Ole Talk , Mammaguy , Commesse and Bacchanal are the pillars of their character ...

Coup de grace is of course that wutliss Carnival  ::)

27 Jan 2014 12:07 #175178 by ketchim
Chin,

answer this to the best of your knowledge:

Why are you fighting with all and sundry on this Board ?

I notice you now calling meseret a Bajan ...

village belle has given you all benefit  to hang yourself ?

Exactly what in your opinion is the problem  ?  :-\

27 Jan 2014 14:16 #175196 by ketchim

You see there is a big , fat LIE....and posters know it.

Cease and desist from LYING and you will GAIN some Credibility  !

27 Jan 2014 14:21 #175198 by ketchim

NOT all of us  ....just you Chin, and Socafighter .

You insult the intelligence of Meseret, Villagebelle and Calypso.

and carry on as though they will eventually accept you as different from Socafighter !

then ramesh you attacking for the same reason ....

Time to create page: 0.224 seconds
JosephineSeattle opened as favorites, and they've earned that right, with fantastic play on both sides of the ball. We are leaning in their direction in what should be a high-scoring Super Bowl.(03.02.2026, 18:05)(18:05)0
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0