27 Feb 2014 10:35 #179979
PRESIDENT of the Guyana Hindu Dharmic Sabha, Dr. Vindhya Vasini Persaud is encouraging all Hindus to observe this sacred day, today, by attending mandirs across the country. According to Dr. Persaud, daughter of founder of the Sabha, late Pandit Reepu Daman Persaud, MAHA SHIVRAATRI is a deeply spiritual occasion that will be celebrated on Chaturdasi, or the14th day in the Hindu month of Phalgun. It is a day consecrated for the worship of Bhagwan Shiva.
She elucidated that devotees typically perform puja to Bhagwan Shiva from 6:00 a.m. and every prahar thereafter until the day is completed. Devotees are absorbed during the day of Shiv Raatri in vigorous fasting and meditation. The Sabha head adjured that there should be abstinence from all negative influences, including alcohol, as Shivraatri is not the birthday of anyone, but rather it provides an opportunity for aspirants to do homage to Shankar Bhagwan in His Sakaarand Nirakaar or Sagun and NirgunRoop – personal and impersonal, with form or without.
On this auspicious occasion large numbers of devotees worship Shivaji through the medium of the Shiva murti and the Lingam.
27 Feb 2014 10:47 #179986
Om Namah Shiva!
May lord Shiva shower his blessings on all the WICFers!
27 Feb 2014 10:54 #179989
I agree.
Ramnouni as well ....these 2 observances have fallen by the wayside !
When I tell my hindu folks about it , they go huh ? when ? wats dat ? :-[
27 Feb 2014 12:50 #180031
Reepu daughter want you to go to de Mandir !
AND perform puja to Bhagwan Shiva from 6:00 a.m. and every prahar thereafter until the day is completed !
why yuh still here ? :-\
27 Feb 2014 13:06 #180038
I urge these leaders during these auspicious celebrations to encourage their followers to fill the villages and help the poor instead of filling the pockets of the pandits. Use those funds to help feed someone, pay someone's doctor fees. After all, God is everywhere.
Lord Krishna himself said that service to man is service to him. There is no higher blessing than doing service to mankind.
So I challenge the Dharmic Sabha to be more progressive in doing these kind of services.
Dharmic Sabha urges Hindus to observe Maha Shivraatri
Time to create page: 0.218 seconds