U.S. warns China not to attempt Crimea-style action in Asia

04 Apr 2014 08:56 #185963 by chairman
WASHINGTON (Reuters) - China should not doubt the U.S. commitment to defend its Asian allies and the prospect of economic retaliation should also discourage Beijing from using force to pursue territorial claims in Asia in the way Russia has in Crimea, a senior U.S. official said on Thursday.

Daniel Russel, President Barack Obama's diplomatic point man for East Asia, said it was difficult to determine what China's intentions might be, but Russia's annexation of Crimea had heightened concerns among U.S. allies in the region about the possibility of China using force to pursue its claims.

"The net effect is to put more pressure on China to demonstrate that it remains committed to the peaceful resolution of the problems," Russel, the U.S. assistant secretary of state for East Asia, told the Senate Foreign Relations Committee.

• niagreuno
04 Apr 2014 09:05 #185965 by niagreuno
LOLOL

• Snoopster
04 Apr 2014 13:15 #186031 by Snoopster
Economic retaliation?

BAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!! ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

How much billions does Uncle Sam owe China?

04 Apr 2014 13:29 #186036 by ketchim
Trillions.....

China pull plug and demand Repayment .

Amrica is an Instant Ghetto :

to be Annexed by Canada !  ::LOL::

• Snoopster
04 Apr 2014 13:32 #186037 by Snoopster

We'll take the Blue States. 

The Mexicans can have all the inbreeding Red Neck ones
. ::LOL::

04 Apr 2014 13:47 #186043 by Googley
When China come calling for their money back, we giving them Canada!  8)

• Snoopster
04 Apr 2014 14:03 #186054 by Snoopster

You think dem Chiney man dem stupid Googs? ::LOL::

How the rass yuh going to sell a gazillion square miles of frozen tundra, with no dogs?

04 Apr 2014 14:19 #186057 by Googley

we giving Sara Palin with the land!!!  ::LOL::

• Snoopster
04 Apr 2014 14:34 #186069 by Snoopster

You guys get to keep Bieber. ::LOL::

04 Apr 2014 14:41 #186074 by Googley

we will include him too...even GW!  :P

Time to create page: 0.222 seconds
JosephineSeattle opened as favorites, and they've earned that right, with fantastic play on both sides of the ball. We are leaning in their direction in what should be a high-scoring Super Bowl.(03.02.2026, 18:05)(18:05)0
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0