31 Aug 2014 15:13 #210393
A “remarkable†new drug that outperforms the best treatments currently available should become the first choice for patients with heart failure, according to research.
Clinical trials were stopped early because of the promise shown by the new medication.
Research on more than 8,000 patients found that the experimental drug saved 20 per cent more lives than existing “gold standard†treatments.
Experts in Barcelona for the European Cardiology Society congress said the new compound, LCZ696, was “a major advance†in the treatment of a “terrible problemâ€.
Heart failure occurs when the heart has been damaged – for example, by a heart attack – and can no longer pump blood around the body as well as it once did.
Radhica
31 Aug 2014 15:16 #210394
by Radhica
I wonder who paid for this research ... I guess it wasn't totally independent of the drug and 'medical' industry whose first aim is to make profits!
31 Aug 2014 16:52 #210405
jess wait!
every killer drug..THALIDOMIDE..was celebrated the same way..as a record breaking saviour that wud end the suffering of mankind.
we have to take it fuh granted mankind suffering and need big pharma drugs
wulfman
01 Sep 2014 05:35 - 01 Sep 2014 06:02 #210422
by wulfman
Heart disease is a problem in my family and a lot of times it is hereditary. My uncle needed bypass surgery and he always took care of himself. Anyway hopefully extensive testing is done so that this is not another recall fiasco.
01 Sep 2014 11:06 #210444
the question is how he took care of himself! he musta taken care of himself like arthur ashe who had dat disease in his family and died from it and related causes anyway... despite the 'expert' medical help and advice he followed
a smart man, brilliant man like you shud know better..also the family yuh from...all brilliant and smart
go to my health centre and see what actually cause heart attack. look for the 'doctor who exposes what actually causes heart attack'
no amount of avoidance of cholesterol will help you. in fact that will actually hurt you..cause you to die.
and no amount of Big pharma drugs will help you. remember STATINS the last killer for heart disease out of the centre of Pharmageddon! ::confused::
this new drug will be the same. anyway..who trusts big phama ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::
rayking
01 Sep 2014 11:19 #210447
by rayking
That's great news, and the research on those 8000 patients seem promising. Heart failure will always be painful. Life will always be different after that first painful incident when you aren't sure if a loved one will make it through the night. I hope the treatment gives some relief to heart patients, its so difficult to get a transplant.
01 Sep 2014 12:16 - 01 Sep 2014 12:22 #210457
very funny!
the issue is not to get to that point at all..to avoid heart disease period.
by the time people line up for heart transplant we looking at a zero sum event: someone must lose their heart for the heart transplant patient to win.
why must humans consider these activities with anything but severe distaste and absolute determination to avoid such choices ::confused:: ::confused::
the way to avoid is prevention
well internal inflammation causes not only heart disease but all disease..the content of our diet the main culprit in the process....especially sugar, the killer sweet taste, from any form of sugar at all...none better than the other.
cholesterol is not a killer at all but is a significantly beneficial element in the human body without which no healing from internal damage is possible. if someone suffers a rupture of a vessel and has a heart attack and has insufficient cholesterol in their body from a program of low cholesterol intake, chances are they will die. they cannot possibly heal in the absence of the bodily healing agent..cholesterol
that is why a lot of heart patients die anyway in my estimation, even when they get operations in time. they have such low cholesterol they cannot heal in time and they die. any way no doubt low cholesterol especially when people age is a serious problem. as we grow older no level of cholesterol is too high.
allyuh can always go check these claims out.
I am no longer concerned about people in need of transplants. I don't care. it is now fully known what the problems are, what causes them...and how to live to avoid them.
short of people born with congenital problems I don't give an eff who get heart attack unless it is a product of advancing age and natural conditions.
it is now a known factor heart attack. we all must change life style if necessary and come into line with what is clearly true about the wrong ways of life most live.. and so protect ourselves.
everyone's health is a fully individually owned enterprise. we own it and are responsible to keep ourselves fit. whatever happens is ours..period! especially in the availability of the knowledge of how to live indeed
Last edit: 01 Sep 2014 12:22 by mapoui.
SeanM
02 Sep 2014 02:06 #210522
by SeanM
well thats a relief, now we can eat all the fat and red meat and cheese we want and don't have to fear dying at 60 years old from an exploded and over worked heart...
wulfman
02 Sep 2014 15:34 #210630
by wulfman
You are a doctor ? I am pretty sure I know the vital information of what causes a heart attack. But if you are genetically more inclined to get it then there is not much you can do except try your best to eat healthy, monitor fat and cholesterol and exercise. All of which my uncle did before his surgery and still continues to do.
New heart drug will cut deaths by a fifth
Time to create page: 0.200 seconds