'Dead' woman wakes up screaming in coffin at own funeral

29 Sep 2014 09:51 #215686 by chairman
London: A Greece-based woman who was declared dead by the doctors reportedly woke up in her coffin just an hour after being buried alive at her own funeral.

According to the relatives and friends of the 49-year-old cancer sufferer, they heard banging and a female screaming from inside the grave, the Daily Star reported.

The dead woman, whose funeral was held at a cemetery in the town of Peraia, was found dead due to the lack of air inside the coffin by the time the gravediggers dug it up.

Chrissi Matsikoudi, a doctor at the scene, said that it is unbelievable and highly unlikely for someone in a state of rigor mortis to have been shouting and hitting the coffin like that, after several tests including one for heart failure on the body was done.

While relatives of the dead woman are considering filing a complaint against the doctors responsible for her treatment at the cancer clinic in Thessaloniki, Greece, a coroner will examine her body over the next few weeks.

• VillageBelle
29 Sep 2014 10:47 #215691 by VillageBelle
You see....that right there is one of my biggest fears.
so much so....that at one time I seriously considered requesting cremation when I die :o

29 Sep 2014 10:54 #215695 by ketchim
hahahaha : Yeah Belle , Retiree gonna have yuh buried alive  :-[

29 Sep 2014 11:03 #215699 by Googley
hold on, Doctor declared her dead and she woke up?!

well, who does she think she is?  She knows more than the doctor?!!!!  ::LOL::

29 Sep 2014 11:12 #215701 by ketchim
Thats Greek style  ;)

• VillageBelle
29 Sep 2014 11:42 #215719 by VillageBelle

hey....watch it there Mista! 
me and my retiree are like this X (criss/crossing my two fingers)  ::LOL::
you guys remember doing that?

• May102014
29 Sep 2014 14:23 #215811 by May102014
This reminds me of a story I read last year of a South American boy being dead for 3 hours who woke up, asked for water, and died again. This story is also familiar to an elderly man family thought was dead but miraculously woke up and lived for a few more weeks and died later. I wonder how these scenarios happen and why some doctors in charge do not know when a person is legally dead. Maybe the person was dead at the moment and mysteriously awoke later. I don't know. Sometimes I am not too quick to blame the physicians for these strange occurrences.

• vegito12
28 Oct 2014 21:48 #220788 by vegito12
I think the cells in the body can make it seem the person is dead, and the doctor thinks the person is dead but person wakes up like this women did but died from being in the coffin. More research needs to be done, and see what the problem is and see if there is anyway of knowing when a person is really dead. I wander how long the investigation will take, and will the family find out what the cause of death was in the first place.  The test showed she was dead, but she woke up and died again as she was trapped in the coffin in the ground.

Time to create page: 0.740 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0