India capital : Delhi and Caste system !

21 Nov 2014 14:56 - 21 Nov 2014 15:16 #224637 by ketchim
Police in the Indian capital, Delhi, have arrested the parents of college student Bhawna Yadav

who was allegedly killed for marrying a man against her family's wishes.
Last edit: 21 Nov 2014 15:16 by ketchim.

21 Nov 2014 14:57 #224638 by ketchim
Bhawna and Abhishek married in a temple on 12 November without informing their families

21 Nov 2014 14:57 #224639 by ketchim
Bhawna's dreams were shattered when she was allegedly strangled to death :

three days after she married her boyfriend, 24-year-old Abhishek Seth.

21 Nov 2014 14:58 #224640 by ketchim
Her parents - her property consultant father Jagmohan Yadav and mother Savitri -

were against her marrying outside their caste.    :'(

21 Nov 2014 15:01 #224641 by ketchim
The couple were together only for a few hours after their wedding :

21 Nov 2014 15:17 #224642 by ketchim
At Bhawna's college, the news of her alleged murder has left her peers scared.

"My parents can never do something like this, but such incidents leave an impression on them too,"

"Why isn't India able to rise above this whole caste thing?

How does marrying in the same caste guarantee a good marriage?"

21 Nov 2014 22:44 #224663 by Kwami
I am sure that you have all the answers to your questions / It is a crime for any of your siblings or relatives to marry a hindu

22 Nov 2014 11:22 #224682 by ketchim

Comprehension problems , Kwami ?? That was the students questions :

as evidenced by the quotation marks  ::)

FYI , my eldest sister , the first born sibling is married to a hindu in Guyana 1969 .

My Father had no problem with it  as head of the Jamaat !

Soemtimes you should just shut yuh trap  :P and post something worthwhile ...

• pattycake
22 Nov 2014 21:51 #224754 by pattycake
I heard that Delhi is one of the worst cities in India for women, but I believe that there's a lot of social improvements there that we're not hearing about in the news.

Amma for one, is an Indian lady whose helping to bring about change in India.

And there's Indian men who are listening to her powerful messages.

22 Nov 2014 22:38 #224790 by Kwami
If you dont know me by now you will never will 8)

Time to create page: 0.229 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0