Spanish Judge Freezes Uber

09 Dec 2014 14:27 #227476 by chairman
A judge in Spain ordered Uber to stop operating in the country as a cautionary measure proposed by the Madrid Taxi Association. Cab associations in Spain have filed complaints against the app-based car service for fostering unfair competition for licensed taxi drivers. The judge from a Madrid mercantile court issued the suspension without hearing arguments from Uber. The ruling instructed all telecommunications and electronic-payment firms to stop processing interactions with Uber. The Spanish suspension comes just days after New Delhi’s ban on Uber, after a driver allegedly raped a woman during a taxi ride.

10 Dec 2014 13:41 #227600 by ketchim

for SCA  8)

• SCA
10 Dec 2014 13:44 #227601 by SCA
Yes....if you go by that then almost every company should be suspended. All the brokerage houses, banks etc whose employees engage in misconduct would be suspended. Good idea. 

10 Dec 2014 13:52 #227605 by ketchim
Rape is a bizness misconduct ?

You NRIs are sumting else  >:(

• SCA
10 Dec 2014 13:54 #227606 by SCA
NRI? Me? NRG? ;D ;D

10 Dec 2014 14:01 #227609 by ketchim
dunno , but you have always been steadfast in your support of Mothe India.

I say be brave like wulfman and take the plunge !

return as an NRI and you get affordable housing , education for kids.

Plus a hindu nationalist PM unlike Barrack Obama :

and Bollywood and classical dancing for the children to Learn !

its a win/win !

• SCA
10 Dec 2014 14:05 #227610 by SCA
Dude...Wulf's family is from India...he is married in India...the wife wants him to stay there...he is comfortable with the lifestyle that is increasingly becoming western...and he gets the better of both world.

Actually you should not use Barrack and Modi in the same sentence...chalk and cheese.

10 Dec 2014 14:09 #227614 by ketchim
dude, wulf just gave you his background !

YOU know more about hinduism and bollywood than him.

Betcha you and Goog Lee can sing more mukesh and rafi than wulf.

place yuh bet !  8)

• Allison
13 Dec 2014 23:54 #228335 by Allison
All over the world Uber has become a threat to taxi cab drivers.
What happened in India is a strange situation.
Here in the US they are free to take over all cities. I've read that some NYC taxi cab medallion owners are furious because the cost of running a taxi is astronomical compared to running two Uber town cars.
It is true that NYC is unlike any other city when it comes to running a taxi cab. There are no union dues. There is no medallion million dollar fee. Therefore, Uber would have an unfair advantage over NYC taxi cab companies. So, I can understand the Spanish judges ruling.

14 Dec 2014 10:00 #228367 by ketchim
NY should use that Spanish court as a precedent !

Taxi companies should Lobby !

Time to create page: 0.215 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0