Republicans warn Iran against nuclear deal with Obama

09 Mar 2015 13:17 #245475 by chairman

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - Republican senators warned Iran on Monday that any nuclear deal made with U.S. President Barack Obama could last only as long as he remains in office, in an unusual intervention into U.S. foreign policy-making.

The letter, signed by 47 U.S. senators, says Congress plays a role in ratifying international agreements and points out that Obama will leave office in January 2017, while many in Congress will remain in Washington long after that.

"We will consider any agreement regarding your nuclear-weapons program that is not approved by the Congress as nothing more than an executive agreement between President Obama and Ayatollah Khamenei," the letter read.

"The next president could revoke such an executive agreement with the stroke of a pen and future Congresses could modify the terms of an agreement at any time," it read.

The letter, first reported by Bloomberg News, followed a speech to a joint meeting of Congress last week by Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu, who warned that the United States was negotiating a "bad deal" with Tehran.

It comes as world powers have been negotiating with Iran to try to reach some form of understanding by the end of March before a final deal in June that could ease crippling sanctions that have crippled Iran's economy.

The U.S. Constitution divides foreign policy powers between the president and Congress. The executive branch is responsible for negotiating international agreements and lawmakers rarely intervene directly with the leaders of another nation while the president's administration is negotiating a pact.

Republicans want any U.S. nuclear agreement with Iran to be approved by Congress. But Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, who signed the letter released on Monday, agreed to postpone a vote on a bill requiring Obama to submit any deal for congressional approval amid outcry from Democrats.

Along with McConnell, Republican signers include Tom Cotton, Orrin Hatch, John Cornyn, John McCain, Lindsey Graham, John Thune and Mark Kirk. Ted Cruz, Marco Rubio and Rand Paul, two possible 2016 presidential contenders, also signed

• myballfield
09 Mar 2015 13:21 #245477 by myballfield
Great, in future should foreign treaties by conducted with Congress or the US President or both. This situation is great for the US if the deal signed by the President ended up to the detriment of the USA which Congress can then reject the signed treaty on the grounds that the US President does not have the approval of Congress. But if the signed treaty proved to benefit the USA, Congress can then demand full compliance by the foreign signatories or face dire consequences from the USA. This situation is akin to 'Head I win, tail you lose'.

09 Mar 2015 13:44 #245486 by mapoui

no! "heads I win..tails I win"
:D :D :D :D
:D :D :D
:D :D
:D

anyhow..the best laid plans and all dat.....

Obama will make his agreement and it will stand.  McCain, Hatch and half all dem senators will be gorn by 2017 congress....so likely will be the nut yahu..

RanD pAUL IS A SKUNT AND A POLITICIAN OF THE WORST KIND.  PISS IN THE WIND TO SEE WHICH WAY IT BLOWS....

AND WORLD POLITICS WILL BE A WHOLE NEW BALL GAME BY THEN TOO. THE VARIOUS INTEREST WILL BE  THE SAME BUT THEIR EXPRESSION DIFFERENT..THE AMERICANS ARE LIKELY T BE WEAKER AND THE jEWS HAVE LESS POWER OVER THINGS. 

THAT'S HOW THINGS ARE TRENDING.  AMERICA IS GOING TO NEED BUSINESS AND WHILE ALL THE SANCTIONS ARE IN PLACE A WHOLE LOT OF BUSINESS THAT CAN BE DONE ISNT...

09 Mar 2015 18:18 #245509 by ketchim

Years now u telling me this !  ;D

09 Mar 2015 18:55 #245510 by mapoui
wat I tellin' you..dat it likely to be so..... ::confused::

yuh shud not take dat to the bank. do dat an' yuh on your own!
:-[ :-[ :-[ :-[

• May102014
11 Mar 2015 09:31 #245679 by May102014
As an American, I can say for a fact - at least from my recollection - the actions by the Republican Party is unprecedented in American government. Never before has a political party drafted a letter to foreign dignitaries, informing them of their options and dismissing the sitting President of the United States. It is disrespectful and in my opinion very un-American. Republicans talk so much about America and the constitution and yet they completely disregarded the laws of America and international legislation to somehow stretch their own muscle. I am disgusted and I am beyond tired of this craze paranoia with a healthy dose of good ole fashion racism that has all but destroy American politics.

11 Mar 2015 10:13 - 11 Mar 2015 10:23 #245690 by mapoui
look ketchim...May is also a believer!

wat Law...american law!? 

there has always been that kind of traitorous behavior by american politicians and its elite class.  its all covered up under that constant militaristic/nationalist propaganda that that passes for culture in america ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: making silly, shallow ready to fight at all times,fooled nationalists of all americans.

there are cemeteries all around the world filled with believing american youth from 220 years of constant wars...while those who profited from those wars beat steady and well worn paths to the bank vaults where their gargantuan stashes of cash are stored.  america is not now and never was a true, real nation but a collection of fools and their predators..those predators who have fed off an increasing pool of fools now 310 million strong.

but in this age of advanced technology that pool of fools is suddenly too large and dangerous to the predators, so they have decided that among their list of priorities, the reduction of the pools is at the top. 

so now they are killing off the fools.  the list of poisons is endless..GMO foods, bad pharmaceuticals and chronic illnesses, poisoned drinking water with flouride and the resides of over-medicated americans by the hundreds of millions.. police state and police brutality and lock down..americans can no longer leave america without permission, soon to be followed by internal passports..and war, war, and more wars that poison and consume the lives, bodies of the injured and the mental health of every generation of american youth....

and the list goes on.  it could not have happened to a sweeter people. 

do you know what american soldiers used to do in Haiti and the Dominican Republic when they saw nig nogs speaking french and spanish!  deh used to chase groups of them into the bush after disarming them and hunt them down like prey..deer and elk or turkeys in the american forest.  that was their sport. every day. with glee and expectation.  ordinary americans could not stand to see nig nogs speaking french and spanish

so the very social poison, the comprehensive exploitation to the point of elimination of the peoples of the earth, that ordinary americans supported and went to fight for all over the planet,  support at home, with Jim Crow and apartheid laws... has snow in its full development and maturation, run its full developmental course in 240 years... has now come back to america to consume its own...americans themselves, to eat america, now that the world is putting an end to global rampant american activities. 

nowhere to go but home, where economic failure and a hungry and unemployed population americans must be killed, locked down and otherwise eliminated as a threat to the continued domination of the predators in their home base

lovely!  now americans..all of them are n!iggers at home.  all are being shot by the cops not just black people but EVERYBODY.  atrocities against the american people by their elite coming out everywhere. 

americans will revolutionize their country or be enslaved once again..all of them..enslaved and killed off.  and this time the remnants will be engineered to be permanently unable to help themselves in the face of exploitation, full spectrum degradation of the human person

but I don't care about america as such, as long as we get them out of the rest of the world and keep them within their own borders. 

then its up to the american people to deal with their reality on their own..period.  I am willing to give them all they deserve.. which they do not allow me now..to deal with my own national issues without their interference.  believe you me I will not interfere in america's resolution of its own internal problems.  I cant wait to let them do that.  I will simply stay well outside range of any possible explosion there thats all
Last edit: 11 Mar 2015 10:23 by mapoui.

Time to create page: 0.192 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0