13 May 2015 08:31 #255992
As both of the major political campaigns announced results favouring them at Monday’s polls, the Guyana Elections Commission (Gecom) yesterday came under growing pressure to release official results but both Chairman Dr Steve Surujbally and Chief Election Officer Keith Lowenfield maintained that they were bound to follow the process stipulated by law.
Up to early last evening, Gecom had only officially released results from 5% of the country’s 2,299 polling places, while Surujbally and Lowenfield could not commit to saying when final results would be announced and noted that some Statements of Poll (SoPs) have not yet been received because of inclement weather.
Surujbally yesterday stressed that by law the commission is the only body authorised to release the results
13 May 2015 08:57 #255995
what..this is some kind of comedy ::confused::
2 days after the election and the results not released and this is the way it is by law ::confused::
what the hell kind of law is dat ::confused::
only by Gayanans eh!
13 May 2015 09:13 #255998
talk about comes'
who is going to believe the results now ::confused::
the results are now suspect. they could be doing any dam thing in there. deh prolly have a result they don't like and trying to change it.
I hope they Guyanese people don't get entangled in bloodshed from this. already the solution seems: toss the dam election...have another in a month... this time under popular supervision with the ballot boxes under popular guard and count..same night after the elections and results as soon as deh done..with the paper trail for all to check and see fuh demselves
but the people mus not fight each other over dem skunt politicians an dem and deh total corruption
The Professor
13 May 2015 09:23 #256000
by The Professor
I experienced 1962-1964. I always feared such behaviours will be repeated. I thought that fear would be realized in November 1973. Now fast track to May 2015. I blame firstly PPP for not correcting the process since 2011 election, in which GECOM took forever to make an unpopular announcement. The coalition must shoulder part of the blame for the same reasons asigned to PPP. GECOM officials are aware of the society in which they operate and therefore should have all bases covered for prompt declaration of the results. I'm satisfied with the behaviour having experienced worse. I wish Guyanese have grown to a level of political maturity in which election violence is a relic of the past,
13 May 2015 09:38 #256003
I hope yuh right man! it would be a tragedy if the rotten political class precipitates general violence by this nonsense
dat elections commission mus' be talkin' bribes lef' and right to decide who wins
the delay cud be while deh consider which bribe is best for them.
I hope deh not arguing amongst demselves over the spoils..delaying announcement ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::
13 May 2015 10:13 #256005
isn't that a statement of the administration in power??
13 May 2015 11:01 - 13 May 2015 11:17 #256014
I don't believe in compulsory anything. if I find no choice of my liking available at election time I must have the right to abstain.
electoral processes are not the problem. right next door in Venezuela they have installed the most up to date, modern and verifiable honest system in the world. BG can take a look over the fence were they interested.
but the ballot box can be just as efficient and is indeed my preference over the Venezuela system good as it is. election rolls/cross checked at the polls, ink, exit polls, observers from all parties as well as independent observers from all over the world if necessary..but certainly from the region.
and with the Ballot Box there is a paper trail that is verifiable..period...yields easily to audit and investigation
and of course...immediate results!!!! not more that 3 hours after polls close..meaning there must be many or sufficient numbers of trained, vetted and bonded counters, liable for any mistakes, for their correction.. or prosecution if chicanery is proved
that can be made to work efficiently. and it is cheaper than the Venezuelan system which involves voting machines and all manner of paper and electronic backup. I don't know if Guyana can afford anything like that.
and Venezuela has a population of 30 million and counting. Guyana is 1 million.
Last edit: 13 May 2015 11:17 by mapoui.
Gecom under pressure over results
Time to create page: 0.190 seconds