We will not become like Trinidad in a million years

• Chin
16 May 2015 07:40 #256310 by Chin
I ran into a highly placed person who is also a top second-tier PPP leader. He is quite known in Guyana though he is not in the core leadership of the PPP. He said to me that there is a problem on his mind that he is reluctant to raise as a matter of priority within the PPP.

He did say that at the PPP’s congress last month, he had mentioned his vexation to three of the PPP policy-makers and they did concede that what he is talking about needs the exigent attention of the Government.
He suggested that I run a column on this predicament. “Freddie after all Guyana is your country so it is not a favour you are doing the government.” I agreed with his point but I did warn him that if I wrote the column I would lay the blame on his party which has been in charge the past twenty-one years.

This gentleman told me that the past President, Mr. Jagdeo, the current President and the entire leadership of the PPP and Government have the statistics on gold declaration and they all know that more than seventy percent of gold taken from the earth of Guyana is not declared and Guyana loses tremendously.
He intoned; “Freddie I am telling you what I know; the figure is seventy percent.”  He went on to say that the average Guyanese would find it unbelievable, the yearly amount Guyana loses in conspiratorial gold smuggling out of the country. He puts it at dozens of billions every year.

I liked his reasoning when he brought in the Trinidadian comparison. He described Trinidad as a first world country and according to him they reached there because they got a golden industry which they took possession of and carefully watches over – oil. He looked at me and declared, “Freddie, we could be like Trinidad because we got what Trinidad has but we are throwing it away.” He meant the gold industry.

Two things I could see clearly when he spoke; he has inside information on the vast amount of money Guyana loses to gold smuggling and he is frustrated that the party he belongs to does not care. I shifted the argument away from the gold industry and went into the direction of politics. I queried why a political party that literally is in control of the gold fields of Guyana and could use that money to make us become like Trinidad is not interested. He didn’t have an answer and I suggested one to him.

I looked him in the eyes and told him that we are getting poorer in Guyana, we will not become like Trinidad in a million years and our misery will continue because the PPP lacks the nationalist spirit that so permeates the poor Third World countries that have become developed states like Singapore, Malaysia, South Korea, Trinidad etc.

I was bold enough to tell him that once President Burnham had come to the knowledge that such vast amounts of gold were illegally leaving Guyana he would have thrown all the resources he had at his disposal to stop it. I made it clear that my statement on Burnham came deep from within my heart.

My advice to him is to use his position in the PPP leadership to get them to see that the gold industry is Guyana’s version of Trinidad’s oil reserves and we could make Guyana better by stopping those billions from leaving.

16 May 2015 08:47 #256311 by mapoui
is there a link to that article..where it is published ::confused::

16 May 2015 09:06 #256312 by ketchim
HAHAHAHAHAHAHA :  Trinis advising a Guyanese ..... ::LOL::

I have not read above drivel BUT here :

16 May 2015 09:54 #256318 by mapoui
drivel it is.  I was not aware that trinidad had taken control of its oil industry :o :o :o :o

when did that occur ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::

what I figure happened is that the oil giants in Titty..Exxon/Esso as Texaco, BP and Shell.. had the Ttty government take over in some sort of rationalization that made doing their business there, more profitable for them

its like colonialism.  running a colonial administration is an expensive thing so the zion/anglo/american empire devised 'independence'  to be given to the colonies without much of a fight which really only accomplished a delegation of costs of empire to them, allowing their government to actually become a new colonial administration with responsibility for all the costs. 

then they retreated with all the profits and a financial control that resulted in a slavery far deeper than when they had direct control with whips and chains.

its seems to me they did the same thing with the oil in Titty..retreated and left Titty holding a lot of costs while cost free profits flow to them.  Trinidad did not take over any dam thing but were instructed to do what appears to be take over and nationalization but isn't

all remains in place but better for the oil corporations and worse for Trinidadians.  Titty still sells its hydrocarbons at peppercorn prices to the corps.  but the price was so high the country still reaped high profits over and above oil corporation rape of the nation.

the Trinidad I know is a fully americanized, mulatto or French creole society.  Trinidad has no defense to americans, to the white skin. once they hear that accent and the white skin they are weak, helpless. 

maybe at one time we were developing a defense but that is long gone now.  there is no way Trinidadians capable of doing anything in their interest relative to american interests

16 May 2015 09:57 #256320 by ketchim
Freddie Kissoon is a sensationalist and a liar : good story writer , though !

his pal did not tell him that Trinidad is the Murder capital of de Caribbean ??

and Guyana will NOT become like that in a million years ?  :-\

16 May 2015 10:36 #256322 by mapoui

well I not in dat with you.  I cyar think of Titty like dat.  no part of the west indies like dat. 

indeed if allyuh doh mind allyuh nation it cud become wuss dan that.  there is no floor too low fuh any nation to fall through when it come so.  and under Indo or any people allyuh have allyuh have not been minding allyuh nation and things not rosy at all

yuh bettah watch weh yuh parse yuh mout' >:( >:( >:( >:(

16 May 2015 11:00 #256323 by ketchim
That was intended fof Chin : whom posted this article as some act of superiority !

As usual I cut Chin down to size with other Facts on Trinidad  ;)

16 May 2015 11:30 #256326 by ketchim

16 May 2015 19:58 #256338 by mapoui

ok! I see..fuh Chin impse ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

Trinidad superior eh.

Lucky!

16 May 2015 22:18 #256342 by The Captain
What a waste of space
And you guy's participate in it

Time to create page: 0.198 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0