30 May 2015 07:46 #257436
WITH the aim of providing youths with basic leadership skills and affording them the opportunity to travel their country, President David Granger yesterday announced that he would be re-introducing the National Cadet Corps. A product of the Queen’s College Cadet Corps himself, the President said his intention is not militarisation, but giving youths an opportunity to explore their country.
“I do believe that in secondary school youngsters should be exposed to leadership skills, team work, to sport, (and) to travel.â€
All these, the President said, could prepare them for a military or civilian career in the future, as the experience they would have gained will take them through life.
The corps will also provide recreational and learning opportunities for youths between the ages of 12 and 18 during the August holidays.
President Granger added that the corps would also play up the importance of teamwork, and the good traits that come with public service.
President Granger however, noted that the National Cadet Corps will not be compulsory, but will be open to all youths.
Over the years, at least three Cadet Corps, the Army Cadet Company, the Queen’s College Cadet Company and the National Cadet Corps were formed, but all had been dissolved.(GINA)
30 May 2015 09:34 #257454
what form would that cadet organization take...on what eligibility would be based. would unemployed youth out of school be eligible ::confused:: if not what about them ::confused:: maybe all kids will be in school at some future date and so all become part of a cadet system. but what about those outside at this time ::confused::
the ideology underneath this is what is really important..the ideology that underpins this project. will it be Guyanese/west indian oriented..or will the imperial social conditioning now dominant in the west indies prevail ::confused::
if it does Granger might as well leave the kids to roam about the streets. the streets would be a much better school of hard knocks to keep their heads straight.
Granger could be looking here for a means to stanch the flow of manpower into the drug trade and other profitable criminal activities in the face of heavy unemployment. he would be better served to ed the drug trade by alternative nationalist construction that would employ all the available labour while building up the country.
such construction would also set the stage for a structured population increase in line with Guyanese nationalist development..also for the return of Guyanese abroad who no doubt would flock back home should there be some reasonably sustained nationalist develoment and social peace
30 May 2015 09:39 #257455
I am naturally suspicious of all such development.
I have never seen anything of that kind lead to anything but organization of the people the better to disciplined them into acceptance of forms of social control from the top down
30 May 2015 10:03 #257458
[color=rgb(63, 69, 73)]
[/color]
[color=rgb(63, 69, 73)]The bottom line is to build on the progress & development made by the PPP/Civic Government by continue to uniting the people, allowing & encouraging the private sector to flourish, invest & generate jobs.The crime situation needs urgent attention & the constitution should be revised to have a true unity government by the major political parties.
30 May 2015 12:09 #257486
.. and so it begins with the introduction of National service, Soon they will ban split peas , flour and potatoes .
Deja vu all over again
30 May 2015 12:28 #257491
Folks , I was a Cub , Boy Scout , Cadet Corp and a national service Lieutenant !
My Father and my GrandFather were both WW II Army veterans.
I believe in para military and ideological debates at these Camps.
30 May 2015 20:16 #257541
ban split peas ::confused::
I doh mind the potatoe but I mus' have my split peas.
30 May 2015 20:17 #257542
how to grow split peas in BG ::confused::
Captain tell we nuh!