Belmont Stakes field reduced to 8 horses

03 Jun 2015 11:54 #258136 by chairman
NEW YORK — The Belmont Stakes field is down to eight after two horses dropped out.

Trainer Todd Pletcher said Monday that Carpe Diem won’t run Saturday when American Pharoah goes for the Triple Crown. Also, trainer Ken McPeek withdrew The Truth or Else.

Carpe Diem was 10th in the Kentucky Derby and will point toward the Haskell Invitational or Jim Dandy Stakes this summer. The Truth or Else did not run in the Kentucky Derby or Preakness and has an ankle issue.

That leaves seven rivals to face Derby and Preakness winner American Pharoah in his bid to become the first Triple Crown winner since Affirmed in 1978.

Pletcher still has two other Belmont runners: Materiality and Madefromlucky. John Velazquez will ride Materiality, who was sixth in the Derby, while Javier Castellano will be aboard Madefromlucky.

Entries will be taken and post positions drawn Wednesday.

03 Jun 2015 12:17 #258139 by mapoui
di'ze the triactor right deh chairman.  Pharoah..Materiality and Made from Lucky

good luck!

03 Jun 2015 12:50 #258144 by chairman
American Pharoah draws the No. 5 post in the Belmont Stakes. His current odds to win are 3-5.

04 Jun 2015 08:53 #258248 by ketchim
Mapoui , coming to Woodbine  ?

04 Jun 2015 09:31 #258260 by mapoui

no man!  I have to bet the race early and go.  the rest of the day with my people in Milton Ontario.  festival there.  I have to attend with them

04 Jun 2015 09:38 #258262 by mapoui
you have to add Frosted to that mix Chairman.  I forgot him.  he is dangerous in this race.

I hardly go to woodbine eh Ketchim.  it is not comfortable.... and there is always too much jockeying to get bets in on time.

I like Mohawk better.  I always get a desk and a tv and I can sit in comfort and use the machines right there to my left and right

Flamboro is closer but that facility has been allowed to run down and is no longer a place one should be on race days

04 Jun 2015 09:45 #258263 by ketchim
Tell them its History since 1978 !

Yuh cyar go to a Festival and NOT witness a Triple Crown Winner :

unless they kerr yuh in a Sports bar at  5:30 o'clock  in Milton !  :-[

Woodbine was half empty for Preakness...

www.downtownmiltonstreetfestival.ca/en/w...ing/photogallery.asp

04 Jun 2015 09:49 #258266 by mapoui
Mohawk is just up the road from there in Milton..10 minutes.

I will walk with the lap top anyway

so you know the Milton festival eh. :D :D :D :D sweet.  I love out there..rather out here.  I am never coming back to Toronto
:P :P :P :P

04 Jun 2015 09:52 #258268 by ketchim

mmaaannn : there is nutten better than a Live! crowd yelling out their horse name or # :

in the last Furlong !  8)

04 Jun 2015 09:54 #258271 by mapoui
come to the festival man!  then run up to Mohawk for the race. :D :D :D

Time to create page: 0.243 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0