Omar Sharif, Star of 'Lawrence of Arabia,' Dies of Heart Attack

10 Jul 2015 12:07 #263207 by chairman
CAIRO, Egypt - Hollywood actor Omar Sharif who rose to fame for his roles in "Lawrence of Arabia" and "Doctor Zhivago" has died. He was 83.

He passed away in Cairo on Friday afternoon after suffering a heart attack, his agent told NBC News.

He was suffering from Alzheimer's disease. His best friend, Egypt's former Antiquities Minister, Zahi Hawass, described how the illness had taken hold in recent years.

"A year ago when he came to Egypt from Paris, I used to take him out every day," Hawass told NBC News. "He used to tell me, 'There is a man in Egypt I want to see so much, I love him.' 'Who is this man, is it Zahi Hawass?' I asked him, and he said 'Yes.'"

10 Jul 2015 12:09 #263209 by chairman
Born in Egypt to a Syrian-Lebanese family, he was nominated for an Academy Award for Best Supporting Actor in 1962 for playing Sherif Ali in "Lawrence of Arabia," a movie that launched him to stardom.

10 Jul 2015 13:24 #263239 by ketchim
Inna lillahi wa inna ilayhi raji'un

Brother Omar , Rest In Peace : Alzheimer' disease is dreaded  :(

I also loved Tamarind Seed

10 Jul 2015 13:25 #263240 by ketchim

10 Jul 2015 13:57 #263252 by Googley
great Actor! RIP!

10 Jul 2015 15:01 #263293 by Nargis
what a handsome man he was.

RIP

10 Jul 2015 16:15 #263328 by mapoui
how did I know dat you would comment on this threat Nargis ::confused:: ::confused::

Time to create page: 0.188 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0