Ramotar lashes out at Government for wrapping up Walter Rodney Commission

28 Jul 2015 14:39 #265504 by chairman
Former President Donald Ramotar is furious that the new government has decided to wrap up the work of the Commission of Inquiry which is looking into the 1980 death of Guyanese historian and politician, Dr. Walter Rodney.

In a statement, Ramotar said history will show that it was the government under his watch that launched the inquiry but it was the APNU+AFC government that decided to end it.

“I wish to reiterate that the decision to establish this Commission of Inquiry was not inspired by any political motive but purely by my desire to shed light on one of the darkest and most controversial event in Guyana’s post independent history and political landscape and to assist the family and relatives of Dr. Walter Rodney to bring closure on what clearly was one of the most traumatic incidents in their lives.”

The Donald Ramotar administration had come under severe criticism for politicizing the work of the Commission and using statements made during the hearings for political mileage during the last elections.

Still, the former President is convinced that the work of the Commission should have been allowed to continue.

Mr. Ramotar said “I will be the first to admit that the Commission of Inquiry was an expensive undertaking but I maintain, a justifiable one. More importantly, all monies spent can be accounted for and were approved by the National Assembly except for a brief period when Parliament was prorogued and then dissolved.”

28 Jul 2015 14:48 #265510 by ketchim

Lookit here : I feel it each and everytime Walter name comes up :

I juss loved that chap during my teen radical days ...

Ramo , u have people reliving  the Trauma after 35 years >:(

28 Jul 2015 15:30 #265518 by mapoui
well Granger is a Burnham man.  what else to expect that he wud shut it dong ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

28 Jul 2015 15:45 #265520 by ketchim
Everybaddy know de Kabaka order the Hit on Dr. Rodney.

NO new evidence is needed 35 years later

Rammo is using it to disrupt tings......

28 Jul 2015 15:47 #265522 by mapoui
you must know by now that I dont trust Granger at all at all.  he is an american trap..a yard bwoy and running dog

he has to prove himself now..that is he a true BG nationalist and a west indian at heart. I don't think he is

• The Professor
29 Jul 2015 13:11 #265608 by The Professor
President Granger needs to step up and play a more leadership role rather than have his lackeys running around embarrassing the government.

Time to create page: 0.185 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0