US citizen gives up on T&T

12 Aug 2015 10:25 #267420 by chairman
Teacher Fatima Neptune of North Carolina, USA, is trying to pick up the pieces as she has now placed all her personal possessions from the United States up for sale, and will be leaving this country by month end.

Neptune said after she and her husband decided to make Tobago their home in 2012, items they owned in the US were shipped to this country without problems. However the shipment of their vehicle has seen no end of trouble.

Since February, she has been to the Ministry of Trade and the Office of the Prime Minister without success. Only recently she visited the Ministry of Trade, and again left with more questions than answers.

“My last straw was going, taking a ferry from Tobago to Trinidad and I was standing at the lobby at the Ministry of Trade from 9 a.m. when the ferry docked, until 5 p.m. in the afternoon, and no one assisted,” Neptune said.

After the correct licence was received it was now time for the receipt of the waiver of the demurrage fees, which is rental fees attached daily, for the container in which the family’s car is being held.

Neptune said her family were told by Government officials the waiver clearance was ready. On May 7, via Whatsapp, Minister of Trade Vasant Bharath told the Express the matter had gone to Cabinet and will be sorted out shortly.

However, to date, Neptune’s car has not been received and all her transportation monies dried up. She has had to leave teaching as transportation to and from the institution which she was attached to was becoming difficult.

“We have wasted all our savings that we brought from the States in order to get this car. So at this point I don’t have a job.”

She said all her personal items are now up for sale, as she remains devastated. Her family torn apart.

“The stuff has been with me for over 30 years. It’s stuff that has been with my mother, is part of my family heritage. It’s stuff that my grandmother had and I have to sell really cheap. I have to give it away in order to leave,” she said.

Filled with only broken promises, she has now vowed never to return to this country.

“This is not fair. You do not treat people this way. You don’t treat return nationals this way. You don’t treat tourism this way. I don’t even understand why they want people come to Tobago or to Trinidad because if this is the way they going to treat people don’t even bother, because you destroying people lives.”

12 Aug 2015 11:08 #267427 by mapoui
I have been searching for a reason for this and i cant find any save race....

I will bet any money at all that Neptune is black..her family black ...and few in authority in Trinidad cares about black migration to Trinidad and Tobago..especially American Black Migration.  they would want to discourage it in fact

now if they were white, or Indo.... all hands would hurry to give assistance, to smooth their access into Titty life.

and why would such a trivial issue have to go to cabinet for decision ::confused:: ::confused::

isnt that total nonsense ::confused:: ::confused::

12 Aug 2015 11:13 #267429 by mapoui
look here.  I am a Trinidad born individual and I had to get my dual citizenship.  and I had the world of trouble dealing with the Indo Trinidad officials to get it. 

I felt like I was in an office dealing with racist white people. that is how bad it was.  all is fine with me,my record. better than average.  I could cut the racism with a knife.  the impression I got is that Indos do not want black people in Trinidad and Tobago now that they have  power

and all of that on Sheppard avenue in Toronto..the Titty consulate.  Trinidad seems like a stranger now..let me tell you.  I can understand what Neptune went through. she would have been better off in Jamaica..but none of the other islands..just Jamaica..if she looking for a place to live in the region

12 Aug 2015 11:14 #267430 by chairman
stop that nonsense about indo people

12 Aug 2015 11:30 #267432 by mapoui

the part about the americans is speculation based on my own experience which is true.  I don't know if it is true or not relative to the americans

but any subject based on general experience is open to to debate n these pages. your response ought to be open-ended and investigative to see if there is any truth to my speculation, based on the truth of my own experience

that is how we can stop my talk..by substituting truth for my speculation :)

12 Aug 2015 11:33 #267434 by mapoui
where are sketchim and TD ::confused::
snoops would have been helpful here :D

12 Aug 2015 11:38 #267435 by chairman
snoops now plying his comments on a small forum in obscurity

12 Aug 2015 11:57 #267440 by mapoui
well I bet no one else comes to this thread....jess watch

12 Aug 2015 12:08 #267443 by The Captain
why miss neptune cant be indo or mix

and see you lost out to her in  tobago

12 Aug 2015 13:36 #267457 by mapoui
I cyar lorse out in Tobago. the family have land in Moriah..a lil piece

mih mudder from deh :D :D :D

Time to create page: 0.203 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0