Jamaica is a vital partner, says Obama

20 Sep 2015 10:17 #272196 by chairman
PRESIDENT of the United States, Barack Obama, says Jamaica is a vital partner in the fight against transnational crime.

"We have supported your exemplary effort by providing training and equipment to the Jamaica Constabulary Force, the Jamaica Defence Force, as well as working to improve overall security within the Caribbean basin," the president told new ambassador to the United States, His Excellency Ralph Thomas.

At a ceremony in the Oval Office at the White House on Thursday, when the Ambassador presented his credentials, President Obama said that the US is also working with the Government of Jamaica to improve the country's energy diversity and security.

"The Jamaica Clean Energy Programme, supported by the United States Agency for International Development (USAID), will help pave the way for clean energy development in Jamaica. Clean, diverse and reliable sources of energy are keys to ensuring the economic prosperity of your island," he added.

The president welcomed the ambassador and said he is looking forward to working together "to advance our common agenda as we deepen further the strong and abiding friendship of our two countries".

In his reply, Ambassador Thomas commended the US Government for the assistance and support it continues to give to Jamaica, citing areas such as HIV/AIDS prevention, education, human rights, and long-standing programmes administered through USAID and the US Peace Corps.

He also noted the support provided to the Caribbean region under the Caribbean Basin Initiative.

Ambassador Thomas pointed out that a significant portion of the Diaspora has made the US their home, "cementing the bonds between our people beyond the formal level of engagement".

20 Sep 2015 10:39 #272204 by mapoui
is dat why he bus' Jamaica apart to get one man..destroying property and killing people..BECAUSE JAMAICA SO IMPORTANT TO THE USA ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::

Imagine if he actually did nothing Jamaica was important to the USA

I look forward to a day when Obama is arrested and charged with crimes against humanity..given a full free and fair trial in the face of the world then found guality as he must according to the evidence and jailed for the rest of his life without possibility of parole

dat wud be a great day for the world

20 Sep 2015 10:45 #272205 by ketchim
Lookit bro , stop yuh nonsense ....USAID to Jamaica is well received.

20 Sep 2015 11:39 #272228 by mapoui

this game coming to an end ketchim...

you, kakabelly and googs must have meetings developing strategy to keep me talking.  stop wasting your time.  if I  have the  time I will talk.  I like talk.  you have to  do nothing to get me to talk

yet I doan know how much longer doh.  my time has past..done.  I have much else to  do and must start focusing there.  there is  nutten in the cricket anymore save total and seemingly irreversible  decline. same way with west indian society.
its time for me to  move on

20 Sep 2015 11:41 #272229 by ketchim
Take a Break : Go TOBAGO .

when yuh son come back from his month long break !  ;)

20 Sep 2015 11:53 #272233 by mapoui

wat is dat fella name again..Big Brother ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::

the one who believed that repeating somethng ad nauseam made people believe it..get conditioned by it.  I get a a headache >:(

• 413x
20 Sep 2015 11:57 #272234 by 413x
What a joke?Jamaica can't even fight a few hundred bad men in MoBay and Kingston, but they are partner in fighting international crime ...so what are they going to do about ISIS and the terrorists in Africa. Obama should be told that yard have poor people trying to get their next meal much less to worry about his problems that he has created.

20 Sep 2015 11:59 #272236 by ketchim
Fastbowler,

he means they have supplied the Trainers from the USA to the Jamaica constabulary.

and in modern weaponry to match the thugs !

• 413x
20 Sep 2015 12:00 #272237 by 413x
i guess you like USA hands in everything.

20 Sep 2015 12:02 #272238 by ketchim
Jamaica asked for Help ...

USA supplied it .

Get the facts straight , Folks.

GUYANA also asking for help as Murders are on the increase !

Time to create page: 0.190 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0