as far as I see the only morality in life is that which is dictated by survival. it so happens that general survival requires that humanity live in consistency with the truth we prove about nature as we go.
we are carnivores and would not be here but eating meat. and remember we got eaten as well..unless when we ded we get bun. if not at some point we will be eaten for sure..even if it is unlikely any more for us to get get creamed by lion, tiger or some big cat..a shark or a crawling 'Macawell' or some such monster
we never used to ask these questions about meat. these questions come purely from modern, comfortable life and the moralities associated with the religions. maybe we eat too much meat...and that may be a moral question. eating meat may not be.
but if the animals can turn this thing around guess who will be on their tables, all dressed up and seasoned, cherry in mouth and trussed-up in 'roast fowl' position....like a padnah ah mine deh used to call 'Roast' because deh walked in on his girl friend in a an awful roast fowl with a man who was not he.
pheeeeeeeeee! allyuh think it sorf! :

anyhow just now we have have transporter technology to make replicators so we can order up meats from the replicator straight up without have to slaughter anything.
wouldn't that be nice. I could order up by Chinese BBQ duck with no fear...for some of which I fee for right now