Only child of Patentia cane-cutter, seamstress tops UG

15 Nov 2015 10:53 #278912 by chairman

AS a boy, Sachin Ramsuran’s father took him on occasional visits to the canefields.Far from being leisurely strolls, those trips were meant to teach the young Sachin a lesson: study hard, or join his father in the back-breaking work of a cane-cutter.
Sachin chose to study hard, and Sunday he graduated as Valedictorian at the University of Guyana, having read for a Bachelors’ Degree in Electrical Engineering for which he scored a perfect 4.0 GPA.
Sitting on a wooden chair under his parents’ bottom-house, he told us his story – one of humility, dedication and hard work.
He was born to a Diaram Ramsuran, a cane-cutter who admits that he doesn’t know to read or write, and Karmawatie Ramsuran, a part-time seamstress who was never afforded the opportunity to attend secondary school. The three live at Plantation Patentia, West Bank Demerara.
His father recalls that at a tender age, he would take his son to the “backdam” to witness the tedious work he did. He would often ask him in typical Creole refrain: “yuh go guh school or yuh want to end up like me?” The reply would be: “No daddy, me want go school.”

15 Nov 2015 11:25 #278923 by mapoui
good show.  lessons well learned! :D :D

15 Nov 2015 11:31 #278925 by ketchim
that is the reason BG have the Academia !

that simple test of showing the kids :

back breaking cane cutting wukk... ::LOL::

15 Nov 2015 19:27 #278996 by Kwami
His story  is not special . This is typical in Berbice.

16 Nov 2015 12:28 #279093 by chairman
true but lets be proud of him.

16 Nov 2015 12:40 #279094 by ketchim
It is also a different era ..

kudos to uncle Diaram and aunty karmawattie  8)

16 Nov 2015 13:28 #279100 by Nargis

hes a nice looking guy as well.

his parents should be proud.

good lesson and good question asked to him by his father.

16 Nov 2015 13:50 #279105 by mapoui

aren't you married ::) ::) ::)

16 Nov 2015 14:01 #279108 by Nargis
ahhhh mapiou i am not dead to the world.

i only complimented that hes a nice looking guy which is the truth....but i dont want him lol

i have my man ...and hes a star in my eyes  :D

16 Nov 2015 14:09 #279112 by mapoui
jess pulling yuh leg.  I understood. I can read unlike some here ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

Time to create page: 0.211 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0