Activists want Canada to push for nuclear-free world despite Dion's reticence

30 Mar 2016 01:03 #299166 by chairman
OTTAWA - Anti-nuclear campaigners who want Canada to push for a global ban on nuclear weapons are concerned that Foreign Affairs Minister Stephane Dion is showing a definite lack of enthusiasm for that goal.

Dion said in a speech earlier this month that the current global security environment is simply not conducive to a ban on nuclear weapons because some states just won't relinquish them.

Cesar Jaramillo, executive director of peace group Project Ploughshares, and Paul Meyer, a retired Canadian ambassador, say there's never a perfect time to push for such a ban and the time to start is now.

Nuclear disarmament and security will be front and centre later this week as U.S. President Barack Obama hosts his final Nuclear Security Summit in Washington.

• Scooby Snack
30 Mar 2016 09:05 #299180 by Scooby Snack
These activists are delusional. The unfortunate reality is that they are a highly effective deterrent to other countries' leaders going haywire. Additionally, as has been stated, there are many people out there that have no care, and if they came into possession of the weapons would not hesitate to use them.

30 Mar 2016 13:51 #299283 by mapoui

wmd have worked a deterrence yes..but the same people who doh care will unleash the wmd anyway..if deh get the chance.  I doh know how we still here for dat reason...pure luck I am sure.

but I am convinced that if the capitalist elites find themselves losing out, that revolutions succeeding everywhere and its all over..that they will push the button.  especially the Jews. 

the jews have long developed what they call their 'sampson option' and that is its purpose...to blow the world anytime they are going to loose and the Jewish people come under global manners for their sins against humanity. 

but all the capitalist are the same way.  they will not take no for an answer.  it is my opinion that they will have the world they way they want it or they will not leave the world in-tact

• djcric
30 Mar 2016 13:57 #299284 by djcric
Well, "Nuclear Security" is a better and more practical thing now than Nuclear non-proliferation or a non-nuclear world. The idea should be to make sure that all "loaded" countries don't leave their nuke "guns" unattended. That's all.

30 Mar 2016 14:19 #299289 by ketchim
Too many movies on this  ::LOL:: , Scooby ! 

• djcric
30 Mar 2016 14:23 - 30 Mar 2016 14:30 #299290 by djcric
Wow, so you see that too Maps?:)

That the only sustainable way for America to stay economically relevant is to keep going to wars?I mean it worked for countries and leaders in the past. Its a "nice" model but ultimately you will run out of resources because you can't win all wars. Napolean lost. Alexander lost. Frankly conquest is a model that can't end well.And I actually think some of the European countries simply free-loaded and let the US handle their problems.I mean lets get real, you don't need a nuke as a country. You just need to have an ally who has nukes.

30 Mar 2016 14:24 #299292 by ketchim

Bro, when you copy and pasting : get the fonts right !

• djcric
30 Mar 2016 14:31 #299298 by djcric
Sorry about that :) Everytime I delete a line in the middle for editing or anything and click save/post, it just messes up the font.

• djordjem87
30 Mar 2016 16:09 #299327 by djordjem87
The cause is very good but I am not sure that this is possible when we know wars are fought to preserve the economy of one state. Americans are fighting many wars right now and they need to have nuclear war heads for security reasons. They need to have this power and not only them but all the countries that have nuclear weapons.

• briannagodess
30 Mar 2016 20:33 #299344 by briannagodess
I'm all for a nuclear-free world, well mostly because my country doesn't even have its own nuclear weapons. Lol. Kidding aside, it would be a better world if there really is no nuclear weapon. But the reality is, lots of countries have invested so much money on nuclear weapons. Is it for preparation in case a war is about to happen? Or maybe just a safety blanket in case another country attacks them? Whatever their reason is, it has caused other countries to create their own nuclear weapons as well.

I know that if my country has the money, it would no doubt build its own nuclear weapon as well. The thing is, we're the losers here, countries without nuclear weapons will be caught in the middle of war. They cannot protect their citizens and their territories.

And although that's not a good thinking or even reason enough to build nuclear weapons, I do understand why there's a need for them. In a world where anything can be fixed by diplomatic talks, there would be no need for nuclear weapons. Sadly, that's not the world we live in today.

Time to create page: 0.194 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0